Why I Stopped Watching Youtube Videos…

1

You may not guess it now but youtube used to be a pretty big part of my life. Every week I would get excited about the newest upload from some of todays biggest British youtube stars, from Alfie Deyes, Zoella, Casper Lee, Joe Sugg, Tanya Burr and the rest of the youtubers in that group. I started watching them around 2011-2012 when youtube really started taking off, I remember the videos they would upload being excited about reaching 100,000 subscribers and those days seem so far away considering how big their channels are now! I even went to Summer in the City in 2012 and was very lucky to have the chance to meet some of them. I had a tumblr dedicated to them where I would create alternate universes and picture preferences. I was obsessed. But that obsession ended a lot sooner than I thought it was.

When I started watching their videos I was 16 years old, and was the perfect demographic for their content, but one or two years down the line and I had grown up a lot. I was heading off to university and becoming more independent, I was finding myself and starting to see the good and the bad in the world around me. But their content wasn’t reflecting that. They were still making videos for 13-16 year old girls and I wasn’t that girl any more. So I stopped watching. I unsubscribed to all of them, unfollowed them all on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and Snapchat, changed my tumblr and moved forward with my life. I thought that would be the end of my time with these youtubers, which I enjoyed and look back on fondly but it isn’t who I am any more and that’s fine.

But one of those youtubers has uploaded a video that may change my separation from the British youtube gang. Louise Pentland (Sprinkle of Glitter) has recently posted a youtube video and blog post telling her fans that there are about to be some pretty big changes to her channel. She is quitting Sprinkle of Glitter and going to start producing more mature content. For the full explanation watch Louise’s video and read her blog but here’s a quick summary; Louise is now a 31 year old woman with a gorgeous daughter, but she wasn’t when she started her youtube channel, and she hadn’t progressed her content and let it mature as she did, she stuck to creating safe videos and she’s getting bored. She was hiding a part of herself and only showing the always happy and perfect Louise who didn’t express her opinion on important issues or tell stories about her adult life. She wants to change that, she wants the freedom to be able to show the adult sides of her, she wants to talk about the bad dates, the good and bad of motherhood, politics and her sex life because those are the things she talks about with her friends in her day to day life.

I am so excited for this change! Although I never stopped supporting Louise and hoping she did well, I wasn’t invested in her content any more because I was bored of it. It wasn’t anything new or interesting, it was the sam thing all the other British youtubers were posting and I didn’t want to watch that any more but now I am fully interested again and looking forward to her new content. I will be supporting her whether I watch her new videos religiously or just the odd one on occasion because I know this change is going to be hard for her and some of her viewers and I want her to know a lot of us are sticking with her.

How do you feel about Louise’s reveal? Are you looking forward to more mature youtube content? Do you still love the content the British youtubers are uploading? Let me know in the comments! 

3 thoughts on “Why I Stopped Watching Youtube Videos…

  1. hollie (hollieblog) says:

    I loved Louise’s video so much!

    I started watching Youtubers at around 19, which was the same time it got really popular. I had always found it a bit strange that the content I was watching, which was created by people around my age+, felt very young and for, like you said, 13-15 year olds. This was fine, but then I struggled to find content for my age but also from British Youtubers.

    I then found creators like Hazel Hayes, Dodie Clark, Savannah Brown etc who were British (or living in Britain) but were making videos that I felt I could actually relate to! So when Louise talked about being in her thirties and wanting to make content for people like her, I was super excited! I’m 23 now so I love that I can start watching Louise’s videos again and not feel the content is too squeaky clean! 🙂

    Like

  2. catherinerachel says:

    I have never really watched Louise, I’d see her in other people’s videos and I found her rather irritating. I might be willing to give her a chance now as I’d like to see her be herself. (I also never watch most of the people you mentioned but I do subscribe to so many Youtubers!) I wish her all the best, I hope it works and manages to change the face of what popular YouTube has become!

    Like

Leave a Reply

