I Promise I Have A Good Reason For Joining Another Readathon: #ReadThemAllThonTBR

exhibitionnow

Yes you did read that title right, I’m signing up for another readathon. You can’t say I’m anything but persistent! However there is a difference in this readathon to the other two I have attempted to do, this readathon lasts longer than a week, so hopefully I’ll be able to actually read a book in the timeframe. What readathon am I joining I hear you ask? It’s ReadAtMidnights’s Pokemon Indigo League Readathon

readthemallthon.jpg

 

This is a readathon based on the Kanto Indigo League from the first Pokemon series and each challenge is based on a gym that ash has to defeat on his journey. The readathon takes place between 14th August and 4th September (I know I’m a day late posting this, life has been hectic lately so I’m sorry).

P1040340

Now onto the books:

readthemallthon-badge01-boulder

 

Pewter Gym: The First Book In A Series
This Rock-type gym is the first gym Ash and the Pokemon player ever encounters. Finish this challenge to win a Boulder Badge.

23299513

For the Boulder Badge I’ll be reading The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine, which is one you will have seen in one of my readathons before but I unfortunately didn’t get chance to get it and I have been dying to read it for so long so I thought I’d stick it in this readathon as well and see if I get to it this time!

readthemallthon-badge02-cascader

 

Cerulean Gym: A Book That Might Make You Cry
This Water-type gym has a badge that looks like a droplet of your tear, so read a book that will rip your heart out. Finish this challenge to win a Cascade Badge.

MOREhappyFINAL

The Cascade Badge is a book that might make me cry, and I’ve heard this is a crier so it’s perfect! It’s also one of The Book Club’s monthly reads for August so I thought I’d cross the two over as it’s one I’ll definitely be reading this month so hopefully it’ll mean I’ll finally read something in a readathon.

readthemallthon-badge03-thunder

 

Vermillion Gym: A Book With Thunderous Hype
Vermillion City is the home to Lt. Surge and his many Electric-type Pokemon. For this challenge, read a book that’s been hyped all over bestseller’s list and the internet.  Finish this challenge to win a Thunder Badge.

13519397

Throne of Glass has been sitting on my bookshelf for so long and I’ve been so apprehensive about starting this series because of the hype surrounding it as well as the reputation Sarah J. Maas has gotten herself concerning flipping characters personalities. I am still a little worried about reading this book but I can’t hide from this series any longer and need to just take the plunge and earn my thunder badge.

readthemallthon-badge04-rainbow.jpg

 

Celadon Gym: A Book That Focuses on Diversity
Celadon Gym is one of my favourites, because of it’s colourful Grass-type aesthetics. Read a diverse book and you will earn yourself a Rainbow Badge.

If-I-Was-Your-Girl-by-Meredith-Russo-paperback-cover

I’ve been making a conscious effort to increase the diversity in the books I read so when my buying this book happened a couple of days before my decision to take part in this readathon I knew this was the perfect book to read to help me earn my Rainbow Badge as it follows the journey of a transgender girl entering into her first relationship.

readthemallthon-badge05-soul

 

Fuschia Gym: A Book With A Great Romance
I’ve always been confused by the fact that a Poison-type gym has a heart-shaped badge. Can someone explain please. Read a book that features romance prominently and earn a Soul Badge.

9780142419403.jpg

Another book that has probably been on my bookshelf for way to long. I’ve only just started getting back into young adult contemporary novels so this category is the perfect opportunity to finally start this series that everyone raves about. readthemallthon-badge06-marsh

 

Saffron Gym: A Book With Fantasy/Supenatural Elements
Saffron City is where all the Psychic-types hang out, so for this challenge, read a bool with fantasy, magical realism, or paranormal elements. Finish this challenge to win a Marsh Badge.

28101625.jpg

This book may not look like your typical fantasy/supernatural novel but it focuses on a girl who has died due to anorexia and is sent as a spirit guide to help a girl with her own issues with food. It was given to us girls at The Book Club by the amazing Hot Key Books for another of our August reads and all the girls who have read it so far have loved it so I’m excited to read it for myself. Again it seemed to cross over perfectly with this readathon and it’s one I’ll definitely be reading so fingers crossed for me.

readthemallthon-badge07-flame

 

Cinnabar Gym: A Book With A Red Cover
Cinnabar Island is famous for red earth and Fire-type Pokemon. For this challenge, read a book with a red cover. Complete this challenge to win a Volcano Badge.

18798983.jpg

I know, I’m embarrassingly behind on all the popular books at the moment. I do own them, I just haven’t read them yet! So again this seemed like another perfect opportunity to cross a must read book off my to be read list. And the gorgeous red cover was just calling to be read to earn me the flame badge in this readathon.

 readthemallthon-badge08-earth

Viridian Gym: A Book With Post-Apocalyptic Setting
The final gym is home to a Team Rocket Leader (OK, if it’s been out 10+ years you can’t cry spoilers) and Ground-type Pokemon. For this challenge, read a book featuring a ruined, post-apocalyptic Earth. Finish this to win yourself an Earth Badge.

bookcover_home_delirium@2x_New

So it turns out I own absolutely no books with a post-apocalyptic setting. I had to go out and buy a book for this badge but I don’t really mind doing that, especially when the cover is as gorgeous as this. I don’t really know much about this series other than everyone seems to love it and it’s another book I’m well behind on reading. Hopefully the content will be as amazing as the cover and I will earn my Earth Badge with ease.

To add to the fun there’s also a points system and your very own pokemon! Here’s all the extra information about that:

  • Each participant can choose one Pokemon, and will start with i) 10CP (Combat Power) for a Pokemon that can evolve OR ii) 50CP for a Pokemon that cannot evolved e.g. Lapras.
  • For each 10 pages they read during the challenge, their Pokemon will gain +1CP. That’s +10CP per 100 pages!
  • For each gym badge/book completed, they will gain an extra +20CP.
  • For each review you post of a book you read during the Read-a-Thon period, gain an extra +20CP.
  • Each time you tweet under the hashtag #ReadThemAllThon on Twitter, gain +2CP. The maximum number of points you can gain from this is 200.
  • Each time you post a photo of your book + a Pokemon (via Pokemon Go camera function) under the hashtag #ReadThemAllThon on Twitter, gain +5CP. The maximum number of points you can earn from this is 100.
  • When you are 150CP, your Pokemon can evolve, earning you gain an extra +50CP. If your Pokemon has a third evolutionary form, it can evolve again at 400CP and gain you an extra +50CP.
  • If you choose a Magikarp, you can’t evolve until you get to 450CP, but you will gain an extra +120CP when you have a Gyarados. Basically, if you think you can read loads of books, choose a Magikarp.
  • Whoever owns the Pokemon with the highest CP in the end, wins the title of Pokemon League Champion and will earn a prize (to be announced), as well as bragging rights.

The Pokemon I will be choosing is Charmander. He is my second favourite Pokemon behind Eevee, but with how the points system works Eevee is not the best decision really, so I’m going for Charmander as I’m hoping he’ll light a fire up my bum and get me reading! (Did you see what I did there ;))

I’ll try and keep track of all my points and the evolution of my Pokemon but I can’t promise it will be 100% accurate! Let me know in the comments if you’re taking part in this and training to become a Pokemon master!

5 thoughts on “I Promise I Have A Good Reason For Joining Another Readathon: #ReadThemAllThonTBR

    • graciefm says:

      Thank you! I’m over 100 pages into it at the moment and really enjoying it! Snow White is one of my favourite fictional characters though so it’s going to be quite hard for me to find a retelling that I love but this on is good so far 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • graciefm says:

      I’m glad you’ve added it to your TBR! I’d not heard of it but it was on by one get one half price in waterstones and it sounded really interesting so I decided to give it a go. I’m really looking forward to learning more about living life as a transgender girl because I really need to educate myself more on subjects like this!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

