Monthly Goals: July 2016

exhibitionnow (9)

Books

I know what you’re going to say, you’ve seen the header photo and are thinking ‘she’s gone mad, she normally reads 3 books in a month, what’s she thinking?’ but I promise you there is a method to my madness and all will be explained!

July goals

I know this looks like a lot of books for me to try and read in a month considering my past reading goal fails but I am determined to do better this month! Honestly, I don’t plan on reading all the books in this picture this month, I don’t even know if it will be these books I’ll read, but I don’t know what I want to read this month so I’m giving myself options. The 5 books lying horizontal are books that I am hoping to read in the #MakeMeRead it readathon (you can still vote for a day or two here) where you choose what I order I read these books in! I don’t think I’ll get through all 5 in a week, but I’m hoping to read at least 3 so we’ll see how well that goes. I have already read 2 of the vertical books, but more about those later and I’m doing a buddy read of another but you’ll have to read on to find out which ones they are 😉. So really I have set myself 3 books to read this month which isn’t that crazy (if I read those 3).

I’ve rambled on defending my insane choices for a bit too long I think so, onto the books! I’ll tell you all about the books in the readathon first to help you make your decision on what to vote for in my poll easier.

I have had The Sin-Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury on my shelf for a few weeks now and the gorgeous cover has been staring at me whispering ‘read me’ for all that time and I thought what better time to read it than in a readathon? I love the premises of this book, set in a fantasy land where a girl can kill people by touch oh and she’s engaged to the prince. Who wouldn’t wan to read this?! I am going into this book relatively blind as I haven’t read many reviews on it but that’s worked quite well for me with my past few reads so I plan on doing it for quite a few of the books on this list!

The book that is currently leading in the poll is Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton, which is another book that I’m going into pretty blind. I have seen it all over the blogosphere and bookstagram though (not that I can blame people with such a pretty cover!) and all I’ve seen are glowing reviews about it. I haven’t actually read a fantasy book set in a desert before so I’m excited to go into something new!

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge is one that I actually hadn’t heard anything about until after I had brought it. It was an impulse buy because the cover was gorgeous, I needed more pastel books, and the blurb made the story sound amazing. It wasn’t until I got home that I started to see things about the book and good reviews for it which made me even more excited to read it. A lot of people have told me they want to read this book also so I’m excited to see everyone else thoughts on this book too!

I absolutely adore Snow White, so after reading Cinder and hearing there was a Sci-Fi version of Snow White being released I knew I had to get my hands on Stitching Snow by R. C. Lewis. Especially when I saw that gorgeous cover as well, how could I not want that cover? It’s not too high up on the poll at the moment but if I’m in the mood for a Sci-Fi or a re-telling after the readathon finishes then I’ll probably be picking this book up at some point this month!

I know, another Snow White re-telling, but I couldn’t resist! She’s my favourite and I haven’t seen any before so when I heard about The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine I knew it was another book that I just had to get. Especially with another gorgeous cover!  This is a completely different type of re-telling to the one above so I’m excited to see how different authors have spun my favourite tale.

That’s it for the #MakeMeRead it readathon books! Now on to my other hopeful reads for July.

If you don’t know already, I’m part of a book club! And our first official read as a group for July is Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne which isn’t normally my kind of read. In the last few years I’ve gone off contemporary reads for some reason but as it was for the book club I thought I’d give it a go. That was probably one the of the best decisions I could have made as this is one of the books I have already read this month and it took me a day. Something that hasn’t happened in a very long time so I’m so glad this book was chosen and I can’t wait to write my review of it to tell you all why I loved this book so much.

I have contradicted myself in my comment about about not reading contemporary because there are 5 in this reading goals post but as it’s supposed to be summer I thought I’d try and give them another go. So with all the buzz surrounding The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson I knew it was a book that I would have to add to my summer reading list. And there’s dogs on the cover, who can resist a cute little dog?

I haven’t heard anything about Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall but I was looking for a light fluffy read to keep me going while away for a week and had read all the books I’d brought with me. The colours and the cover stood out to me because they are just gorgeous and so photogenic! And the plot seemed like a really easy read, so easy I’ve already finished it. It wasn’t completely groundbreaking but I didn’t expect it to be, it was just a nice read that didn’t take up a lot of time. I’ll be doing a full review soon to fill you in!

I have absolutely fallen in love with the Shades of Magic series so when I heard This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab was being released and it was a YA book I knew I had to get it! I’m surprised I have been able to hold myself back from devouring this book but then I organised a buddy read with the amazing Jemima (follow her here or you’ll regret it!) and we are starting that this month so I’m super excited! It’s V.E. Schwas writing and it has monsters what more would you want?

Another contemporary on my list for this month, but I really fancied a summer read! I’ve heard so much about Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins and the two follow on books and I feel kind of left out for not having read them, so I thought it would be the perfect book to calm my summer read bug. Also it’s set in Paris and I love Paris so I’m really looking forward to reading a book set there.

I own a couple of short story collections now and I couldn’t resist putting Summer Days & Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins on the list for this month. I mean the title of book has summer in it, twice! And it has stories from some of my favourite authors so I’m looking forward to discovering new authors and reading some of my favourites. Also the cover is beautiful and I can see myself sitting outside in the summer devouring this book. I’m not sure how to review it though, should I post separate mini-reviews for each short story and then an overall review? Posts with multiple mini-reviews in and then an overall review? or just one big review of the book as a whole with very short mini reviews?

Blog

I didn’t do very well with my blog related goals last month so a couple of them have been recycled onto this month. I feel like I’m getting there already with a couple of them so hopefully I can stick to them this time!

One of the goals that I’m moving into this month is that I need to post more! I feel like I’ve accomplished that a little already this month, and I have about 8 posts in my drafts that I’m working on focused on books. I haven’t even started the beauty and fashions ones I want to start doing (and there’s quite a few of them) so I’m determined for this to be a good blogging month!

Another goal that I failed at last month was posting to instagram more so I’m going to try and rectify that this month. To be fair to me I did have no books to take photos on for the majority of the month because they’d all been shipped home from university and I wasn’t prepared with spare photos, but I will have no excuses this time. I have photos prepared early and I’m hoping the weather will be nice to me so I can take pretty outdoors pictures.

My last goal for this month is to do with the long list of books above, I want to complete the readathon and read more books overall. As you’ve probably seen from my monthly round-up’s, I do not read a lot of books in a month normally, but I’m hoping the readathon and the bundles of free time I will have will mean I’ll be able to have a record breaking month for reading!

What books are you most looking forward to this month? Have any blogging goals for the month? Are you taking part in a readathon and want to give me some tips? How should I review short story collections? Let me know in the comments!

 

12 thoughts on “Monthly Goals: July 2016

    • graciefm says:

      I know! It’s one of the main reasons I brought it, that cover mixed with Snow White? I had to have it! I don’t think I read the synopsis until after I’d ordered it 🙈Thank you! I’m so excited and nervous for it!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. adhvikablog says:

    Omg! Lovely post what app did u use to edit the picture and get that box? I’ve tried so many different apps but couldn’t do it! I’d love if you could help me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • graciefm says:

      Thank you! I edit and make the graphics on my laptop, I use picmonkey for editing the actual photo then canvas for the text and the box, I use one of their free layouts and delete everything except the box and change the colour of it 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

