I Made It Through My First Instagram Book Challenge!

exhibitionnow (5)

At the beginning of this month I made the very important decision to do my very first instagram book challenge. I’d been wanting to do one for a while but I always seemed to find out about them half way through and I didn’t fancy jumping in in the middle.

Then at the end of April NellieBooksCo uploaded a blog post about an instagram book challenge she was hosting, and after seeing the prompts I knew I had to take part in it.

Day 0.png

Some of the prompts were harder to do than others, but NellieBooksCo was nice enough to put inspiration and more detailed descriptions on her blog post to help us bookstagrammers out a bit.

I did have a bit of trouble keeping up with posting because of university commitments. It got in the way of me actually being able to take the pictures but after my exams were over I was able to get back into the swing of things and make up for lost time. I did end up having to upload three posts a day to make sure I completed it on time but I did it and that’s what matters!

BeFunky Collage.jpg

I really enjoyed doing this, despite getting quite stressed at not having the perfect picture for every prompt and some of them not living up to my own personal standards. It gave me the opportunity to explore different styles of book photography and see which one I enjoyed more. Doing this meant that my bookstagram theme is kind of all over the place at the moment, but I don’t really mind that because I still don’t know what kind of photos I enjoy taking yet.

I love the bright colourful pictures because they ooze happiness, but not all books work well in a bright picture, and I am soon going to run out of places to take these. I love the simplicity and class of the ‘white duvet’ pictures or ones with a plain background but again, not all books are going to look s as good that way. I also realised I have basically no photographic props with me at university which makes taking these photos harder because then my feed is just going to be a single book on a white duvet, and what’s exciting about that?

Mainly what doing this challenge made me realise is I’m still trying to find my place in the bookstagram world, and it’s okay for my feed to be all over the place while I do that. And until I find a type of book photography that I completely love and feel comfortable with it’s perfectly fine for me to keep on experimenting.

I loved some of the unique ideas this challenge gave me and I am excited to do another one, however I feel for this month I want to focus on finding out who I am as a bookstagrammer. If I need a little help along the way I can always look for current challenges for inspiration.

Do you guys do instagram book challenges? Are you struggling to come up with a theme for your bookstagram? Have you got a bookstagram I can follow so we can gush about book photography together? Let me know in the comments bellow! 

20 thoughts on “I Made It Through My First Instagram Book Challenge!

  1. Annemieke says:

    I’ve been searching for what fits best with me and my books. But that is okay. I used to do challenges, but right now I’m still trying to catch up to all the book tags, haha. Mine is signourney. I think I follow you already. 🙂

    Like

    • graciefm says:

      I enjoy doing too many different types of photos so I just can’t decide between them! haha I don’t blame you, I’ve seen the tags going around and they seem like such good fun! I’ve just followed you back! Your photos are gorgeous, I’ve always been jealous of the ones you put in your posts!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Annemieke says:

        Haha, me too. It is just great to try out all the new things. And the tags are fun but so hard to keep up with, haha. And thank you ❤️ I love your outdoors photos. They are so pretty!

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        Aww thank you so much! ❤️ I’m hoping I’ll be able to take more once I get home from university, all my books except 3 have already gone so my photography has slumped quite a bit over the last week! I’m hoping I’ll be able to pick it up when I get home, especially if the weather is nice and I can take full advantage of having a garden again! The tags look so fun! I can’t wait to get to the one you’ve tagged me in, I’m really looking forward to doing it!

        Like

    • graciefm says:

      You definitely should! I’ve been really slacking with mine lately but I love taking book photos and seeing some of the other amazing photography that other bookstagrammers! The book challenges are so fun as well because they give you so much inspiration!
      Aww thank you so much! ❤️ I loved taking them, but unfortunately I can’t do them all the time because the weather has been so temperamental lately! Hopefully this will be a good summer and I can get more outside ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

