Monthly Goals: June 2016

exhibitionnow (4)

Books

I’m going to be a bit ambitious this month and set myself four books to complete and one to at least start this month. I am going to have a little bit of university work to do this month in preparation for my third and final year but it shouldn’t get in the way of my reading so hopefully I’ll be able to surprise myself with the quantity of reading I am able to do.

I managed to start reading the first book in the Grisha Trilogy, Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardguo, last month so I plan on finishing it soon. I’ve only read the first three or so chapters and I am enjoying it! It’s not drawing me in as much as I thought it would but come off of A Darker Shade of Magic I had set my hopes high for this book, hoping it would be as amazing as that was for me. It still might be yet, I am only in the first few chapters so it still has time. I love the concept of it and I already love Mal so I’ll see how the rest of it goes.

I recently finished A Darker Shade Of Magic by V.E. Schwa and fell completely in love with it. I had to stop myself from starting the sequel because I’d already promised myself I’d start the Grisha Trilogy but you can bet that A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab will be the next book I pick up this month. I’m so excited to find out what happens but I’m also really nervous, what if I don’t love it as much as the first? What if I love it just as much because then I have the agonising wait for the third book in the series to be released next year! I just know this book is going to leave me with a lot of feelings and I don’t know if I’m prepared for it!

I have had Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas on my shelf for a while now and have seen this series plus Maas’ other series around the blogosphere for a while now. I’ve heard good and bad things about this series, particularly the latest books in the Throne of Glass series so I’m a bit apprehensive to get attached to characters in a series that I might end up hating. But I can’t ignore the hum around this author any longer so I plan on diving head first into this book this month.

The next book I plan on reading this month is one my lovely boyfriend got for me this Easter (which you can see in my Easter Book Haul) that then suddenly started appearing all over social media and the blogosphere. I love the premise of Flawed by Cecilia Ahern and I’ve seen some great reviews for it so I’m looking forward to reading this one. It seems a bit like other dystopians but with a twist, and as I haven’t read a dystopian in a while I’m looking forward to getting back into this genre so hopefully this book will be as good as I remember dystopians being!

I’m sticking a smaller book in here because that means it will be easier for me to reach my goal of reading four and starting one book as reading Annihilation (Southern Reach #1) by Jeff VanderMeer. I’ve had this book a while and although I haven’t heard a lot about it online the guy in the shop couldn’t recommend it enough (and I normally trust book shops workers recommendations, they know their books). The synopsis is also really interesting so I’m looking forward to seeing if it lives up to the group of badass females I have in my head.

I would like to try and get a graphic novel in there as well but I won’t get ahead of myself. I’ll stick with this for now and if I manage to get a graphic novel in there as well then that’s a great bonus!

Blog

A new section! Oh my goodness! What is happening?!

Well I recently treated myself to a swanky new planner (I plan on writing a post all about it, so don’t you worry) and in this planner is a section for your goals for the month. As I’m using this planner predominantly for my blog all the goals are centred around that, which gave me the brilliant idea of adding a special section in my monthly goals posts letting you guys know what they are. And this way if I start slacking on them you can all bombard me with comments telling me to get my act together!

My first goal for this month is to post more. I know this one sounds silly but the last couple of months have been a bit hectic with university and I’ve let me blogging slip. Now that I’ve finished university until September I don’t really have an excuse so I plan on upping my posting this month! I have a few ideas for posts that I’m hoping to upload, one of which I’m already working on so hopefully I’ll be able to stick to this one!

The second goal links into the first one and that is schedule my posts ahead. I think one of the reasons I didn’t post as much was because I wasn’t prepared for the onslaught of university work with pre-written posts I could stick up when I didn’t have time to write anything or any I could schedule to go up throughout a week that the work load was particularly bad. But I’m going to try and not let that happen this month by going on mad writing sprees and having at least a few posts ready to go up if I get caught up in other things.

My third goal is more to do with social media but it also relates to my blog, and that is post more to Instagram. As some of you may know I did my first Instagram book photo challenge in May and I enjoyed it! I won’t be doing another one this month because I want to focus on closing in on the style of book photography I prefer doing, but that doesn’t mean I want to let my posting slip. I saw how posting every day increased my likes and followers and I know that will subsequently lead to more traffic on my blog, so I’m hoping to keep up with the quantity of posting this month and post at least one picture each day!

The final blog related goal for this month is also centred around social media and that is increase my Twitter presence. I don’t really use twitter a lot, but I’ve seen how it has helped people pull readers to their blog, and I recently discovered special twitter accounts for bloggers that will RT your tweets to get them out to a wider audience for you. I’m trying to tweet a lot more this month, particularly about books and my blog. The only problem is I don’t have a lot of people to talk about books with on there and I’ve been trying to find people through different hashtags and having no luck! So if you have twitter and want to gush about books with me then feel free to follow me, I’m @GracieFM, or if you know any good book accounts I should follow leave them in the comments and I’ll check them out!

What is on your TBR for this month? Have you got any books you’re dying to read? Read any of these and want to let me know what I’m getting myself into? what are your blogging goals for this month? Let me know in the comments! 

6 thoughts on “Monthly Goals: June 2016

  1. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Yay for ambitious goals! I really enjoyed the Shadow and Bone series, I hope you do once you finish the first book, hopefully it’ll be worth the time it took you to actually get into the book. Also double yay for A Gathering of Shadows. I loved this book, even more than ADSOM so I don’t think you have to worry about not liking it as much as the first one! I can’t wait to see your review for it, and all the books you have planned for this month!

    Liked by 1 person

    • graciefm says:

      It’s starting to get a little better now, I’m still not that far into it but I plan of having heavy reading days for the next couple or so days so hopefully I’ll be absorbed! I can’t wait to read it now, it just keeps staring at me from across the room, begging me to pick it up but if I do that I’ll never finish Shadow and Bone so I will be good! Thank you! I can’t wait to get back into my blogging and reviewing more 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        It always helps when you can jump straight into books and not come out again until the last page. Hopefully heavy reading days will help then 😀
        I take it you’re not a multi-reader then! I’m not either, the trials of only reading one book at a time right?
        That’s all right ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        Once I got into it properly I finished it so quickly, it probably took me about 2 days to finish if I take out all the time I spent not reading it (which I didn’t want to do but I had to because otherwise I would have no friends or social life)
        Tell me about it! I used to be when I was younger but now I find if I try to multi-read then I focus too much on one book and the other/s don’t get finished because I’ve forgotten what’s happened in them or I get mixed up 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Oh yeah I’m the same, I can read books quite quickly if I can get into them (and yeah, taking time out of reading for your social life isn’t idea all the time but it needs to be done XD)
        I think I can normally get through books quite quickly now so I don’t tend to need to multi read nowadays, and yeah like you said it’s better not to get mixed up when reading! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        Yeah, unfortunately we have to do it from time to time but at least when we get back we can always jump back into reading for a couple of chapters before we’re pulled away again!
        I’m getting through books quicker now than I used to, my reading speed went down by loads before I took a huge break from it without really realising it but now I’m picking things up again and doing stuff a lot quicker than I thought I would! I wish I could multi-read because it would mean I read a lot more books but my brain just doesn’t work that way unfortunately!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

