Monthly Goals: April

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 17.28.38

As you have probably been able to tell my last monthly goals did not go so well. I’m hoping I will do a lot better this month as I’m only setting myself five books to read, three of which are for university. I’m almost half way through one of these already but I thought I’d include it anyway, mainly because the colour of the spine matched a couple of others I need/want to read this month as well.

TBR April 16 Monthly Goals.jpg

This month for university I will have to read:

Wake by Anna Hope

This book is for my Literature of the Great War Module and focuses on three women who are trying to deal with the aftermath of WWI and the affect it has had on their male loved ones. This is probably the thickest book for war I will have to read but also seems the most interesting. I’m looking forward to seeing how these women lives will entwine through the shell shocked men that surround them.

Life Class by Pat Barker

This is another for Literature of the Great War and I am part way through this novel already. It’s the first university book that hasn’t bored me to death this year so that’s a good sign. I haven’t got to the part about the war yet but I’m not wanting the rip my eyes out at the thought of continuing this book, so one point to my war module!

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

I am and I’m not looking forward to this book. It’s the last one I’ll have to read for my modernism module, hooray! But it’s a book written in the modernist style, boo! As you can probably tell I am not a big fan of modernist literature so I can’t wait for this module to be over, but I’ll have to push through this first, maybe it will be the first book for the module I’ll actually complete! (I’m not counting The Waste Land by T. S. Elliot, it took all of five minutes to read).

Now onto the two books I’ll be trying to read for pleasure this month! I’m already part way through Truthwitch by Susan Dennard but I had already taken this picture by the time I thought to include it, so it’s being left off this post for now. But the other two are:

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

I have been wanting to read the Grisha trilogy ever since I saw the hype around Six of Crows and I’m hoping this will be the month I finally start it! I know a lot of people have said you don’t need to read this series but I like the sound of it and feel I will be missing out on a lot of world building if I skip this series. Crooked Kingdom (the sequel to Six of Crows) is being released in September this year, so I’m aiming to have at least finished the Grisha trilogy by then.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

 The sequel to this has already been released and it has taken all of my will power not to just go out and buy it despite having not read this book yet. I love the premise of it, I haven’t heard of a dystopian like this before so I’m really excited to read it, all the amazing reviews have helped as well. It will probably be the book I read once I finish Truthwitch because I can’t wait to see what all the hype is about and Spencer is bugging me to hurry up so he can read it after me. This is one I desperately hope lives up to the hype!

What’s on your TBR for this month? Do you know what I have to look forward to with my monthly reads? Let me know in the comments! 

6 thoughts on “Monthly Goals: April

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Omg The Grisha books are AMAZING!! Like the BEST of ever (well, I had quibbles about the finale, but book 2 is the best, particularly when Sturmhond comes into the scene. Just you wait. ;D) Oh oh and A Darker Shade of Magic is incredible. Like…afkjdlsafd I CANNOT EVEN EVER FLAIL ENOUGH ABOUT IT. Although it’s not dystopian! It’s alternate reality! And the setting is more like 20th century London! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • graciefm says:

      Haha I’ve heard the last book is a bit of a let down compared to the other two! Oooo I can’t wait to read it now and find out about Sturmhond! Hahaha I’ve only heard good things about ADSOM so hopefully I’ll be able to flail with you soon!!! Is it really? The blurb read like a dystopian to me! Hmmm I’ll have to look into more alternate reality books then if that’s the kind of plots they’re producing!! One of the things that does excited me is the London setting, not a lot of books are set in England so I’m really happy one that’s so popular is!!
      Aww no problem, I love your blog and I’m so glad you’re back from your hiatus! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

