Monthly Round-Up: February and March 2016

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 16.56.43

Books

I know I’ve been absolutely terrible at posting over the last month and a half and the only excuse I can give is university stress got the better of me and I let if affect my blogging. I’m working towards sorting that out but it’s a slow process, I promise I will try and be better this month though! It is not just my blogging that was affected over that time, it was my reading as well. The start of February was great, I sped through two books and thought I was finally going to make a decent dent in my TBR list. That did not go to plan. I went into a bit of a reading slump due to the stress, but again I’m working on it and I’m getting out of the other side and am finally getting somewhere with the book I started reading when it all happened!

As you’ll probably be able to tell, I did not do very well with the goals I set myself for February, even though I technically had an extra month to read them. Below are the books I actually managed to complete with links to their Goodreads pages and the month that I read them.

University books I’ve read

The Return of the Soldier by Rebecca West (February)

The Waste Land by T. S. Elliot (March)

Pleasure books I’ve read

Storm in a C Cup: My Autobiography by Caroline Flack (February)

Cinder by Marissa Meyer (February)

Books I’ve reviewed 

The Calling (Endgame #1) by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton 

Storm in a C Cup: My Autobiography by Caroline Flack 

Currently reading

Unknown.jpg

Truthwitch (The Witchlands #1) by Susan Dennard

Life Class by Pat Barker

Posts

My posts have been a bit sparse over the past month or so, and I think one of the problems I was having was that doing the weekly memes felt more like a chore, although I enjoyed doing them and I liked the themes that were given, having to have them up for a certain day made them feel like something I had to do instead of something I wanted to do. I’ve decided I’m going to stop doing them for now, and try and focus on writing what I want to write, if I see a theme I like though I might make my own post about it in my own way (obviously I will credit where the idea came from).

My Life

Weekend Away in Plymouth

Six Nations Match

Top Ten Tuesdays

Top Ten OTPs

Book Traveling Thursdays

Everyone Has a Special Someone!

Favourite Couple!

Tags/Awards

The Dim Dum Book Tag

Dragon’s Loyalty Blog Award

Book Hauls

My Book Ban Has Been Lifted! 

Reading Challenge

Overall: 9/30

February: 3/30

March: 1/30

I did not make a very big dent in my Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge, but according to Goodreads I’m still ahead of schedule! That is probably because I set my limit so low, but I didn’t want to pressure myself, and after the last month or so I’m glad I did. I know 30 books in a year seems like a really low goal, and secretly I am hoping to beat it by quite a bit, but we’ll see, if I get into any more reading slumps then I’ll be lucky to reach it!

That was my terribly behind schedule monthly round-up for February and March, how have the last two months gone for you? Are you ahead in your Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge? Let me know in the comments and add me on Goodreads to we can encourage each other to reach our goal! 

2 thoughts on “Monthly Round-Up: February and March 2016

    • graciefm says:

      Thank you for this! It’s really lifted my spirits 🙂 I’m so happy to be into blogging now though, I think the break was a good thing because at the time it seemed like another added stress and I don’t want my blogging to feel like that. Now it’s something I look forward to doing, and actually it’s helped me destress over the past few days 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

