Book Review: Storm in a C Cup: My Autobiography by Caroline Flack

Caroline Flack.jpg

Book: Storm in a C Cup: My Autobiography

Author: Caroline Flack

Original Release Date: 22nd Oct 2015

Genre: Autobiography

Rating: 4 out of 5

 

 

Blurb: In December 2014 Caroline Flack danced her way into the nation’s hearts when she raised the BBC’s coveted Strictly Come DancingGlitterball. Known for her throatylaugh, edgy humour and quick-fire wit, showcased on some of Britain’s most popular spin-off shows, 2015 saw her thrust into the mainstream, hosting ITV’s flagship talent show, The X Factor, with Olly Murs.

In Storm in a C Cup, Caroline reveals the laughter and pain behind the TV persona, from a sheltered Norfolk childhood shared with her twin sister, through her madcap student days, to the challenging career ladder leading to eventual TV success, not forgetting its dark shadow, when intrusive media attention turned the dream into a nightmare. She takes us behind the cameras at some of TV’s most successful reality shows, including the tensions, stresses and unlikely friendships of the three-month adventure that was Strictly. Caroline wears her heart on her sleeve, documenting her joys and heartbreaks with the humour, resilience and unflinching emotional honesty that have made her of one of television’s most popular celebrities working in television today.

My Thoughts:

This is not a book I would have brought for myself generally. I’m not an autobiography person, I’ve tried them before and they just haven’t pulled me in, but my mom got me this for christmas as she thought I would enjoy the hearing about Prince Harry and Harry Styles (she was right). Although their sections in the book were relatively short, by the time I got to them I didn’t even care. I was invested in Caroline’s story, her career, her relationships, her life.

Like I said, I’m not an autobiography person, so I don’t know the usual layout for them. I always pictured them as starting right from the beginning of their life and going through their life until the point in which they are writing their book. That’s what put me off, I didn’t want to wade through the nonsense at the beginning about their childhood to get to the interesting bits about their life. But Caroline Flacks autobiography wasn’t like that.

The first chapter starts at a photoshoot with Caroline being told of a scandal concerning her that is about to break. It pulls you straight in, and although the next chapter does go back to her childhood, it isn’t filled with boring childhood anecdotes. She tells the romantic story of how her parents met and fell in love, and the milestone events from her childhood involving her twin sister and her grandparents. It didn’t feel like a chore to read about her life before fame, she didn’t ramble on about miscellaneous details of her everyday life. She told stories that were really relatable, about her first crush and boyfriend, arguments with her brother and sisters and missing her family while at university. Yes, her university experience wasn’t exactly the norm, she went to a university for dance in London and had experiences that I think were derived from that. But it was interesting to read what those schools were like, how hard it was for her, especially as I constantly see pictures from similar schools on my Facebook feed.

The autobiography was mainly focused on Caroline’s disastrous love life, and normally that is something I don’t like in a book unless it is a contemporary. But these weren’t your usual love stories, they were funny and filled with blunders and awkward first meetings, usually due to Caroline’s rambling nature and quirky sense of humour. Most importantly they were relatable! It’s one of the main things I loved about this book, Caroline’s life is relatable because everything she describes is what any socially awkward person would do (which I am).

There were a few grammatical and spelling errors in here which threw me off a bit, but there weren’t enough to put me off reading. They were minimal and didn’t take away from the enjoyability of this book. That is the main reason I gave this book 4 stars, enjoyability. I found myself smiling throughout the whole thing. This is the autobiography for people who don’t do autobiographies and I would highly recommend it.

One thought on “Book Review: Storm in a C Cup: My Autobiography by Caroline Flack

Leave a Reply

