Book Haul: My Book Ban Has Been Lifted!

I am finally able to post another book haul! I know most bloggers post a book haul monthly, showing everyone the books they have brought that month, but my book buying habits can be a bit all over the place to be honest, so I feel it is best to do book hauls when I actually buy books.

The reason my book buying habits are too and throw is because I have been on a book buying ban since the beginning of last summer. This is because when it came to books I would go a bit crazy, I would buy books for the sake of it and my book shelf is still full with books that I haven’t read, which I brought years ago and honestly, I probably won’t read them. I don’t want my book shelf to be like that so I placed myself on a ban and allowed myself to only buy books that I absolutely, desperately, must have. This took a lot of will power and I am proud of myself for sticking with it so well. I finally allowed myself a book buying binge when I got given two Waterstones vouchers for my birthday (giving me two and a half free books) and had saved up enough points and stamps (they have two different rewards schemes!) to get at least two free books. Also Waterstones always have a buy one get one half price offer going, and taking Spencer meant I could get a book for half price if I did the deal with him. I did treat myself to two extra books from Amazon that I couldn’t get in Waterstones but I felt that I deserved it after doing so well with my ban!

So, without further a due, there are the books I brought!

Book haul .jpg

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

This book has been going around the blogosphere since it’s publication and I don’t think I’ve read a bad review of it. Even without those amazing reviews I would probably still pick this book up because the synopsis makes it seem like the perfect book for me. I have started reading this but unfortunately I haven’t been able to really get into it yet because I have university books that need to be read. I can’t wait to really get into it though, I really like the idea of these different types of witches in this fantasy world.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Another book that has been making the rounds! I haven’t heard as much about this as I have some of the other books in my haul, but that may be because of the blogs I follow. I do really like the sound of this book though, it’s not something I would normally pick up but the reviews I have read have convinced me that it is something I would enjoy. I’m excited to see how this book ends and I haven’t even started it yet!

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Please don’t kill me! I know I am so behind with this series and I hate myself for leaving it so late, but at least now I don’t have to wait for releases because all the books are out? Okay, I know that us a feeble excuse for not reading this book sooner, but I have now! Yay for me! And I can see what all the hype is about, apparently the rest of the series only gets better so I’m excited to read the rest of it, I just don’t know when that will be as I don’t know when I’ll be able to buy the next book, but hopefully that will be soon!

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

This book has been a nightmare. The copy in this photo will be sent back because all the page ages are frayed so much it is ridiculous. I’m gonna get it swapped next week, but it’s taken so long that I didn’t want to keep putting off taking the photo for this, and subsequently this post. This is one I have been dying to get to, and I can’t wait to actually get a non-damaged copy so I can enjoy it. I’ve heard so much and with the sequel being released this year I need to get caught up.

Angela Carter’s Book of Fairy Tales by Angela Carter

Even more fairy tales! I had to read Angela Carter’s The Bloody Chamber short story collection for university this year and I really enjoyed her retellings so when I saw this gorgeous collection of some of her other works on someones blog post (I forget who’s now, sorry!) I had to have it for myself. It’s even more beautiful in person than I thought it would be, and although it is a huge book, I know that if I try and read a story a night when I start this book it will go quickly.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Another series I am miles behind. Although I’ve read mixed reviews about the Grisha series I am still excited to read it. I have read so many good things about Six of Crows, and I know everyone says you don’t have to read the Grisha series to understand this book, I feel like I’ll be missing out on a lot of world building if I skip them. So hopefully I’ll be able to read this series and Six of Crows this year but we’ll see how it goes!

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

I have heard so many good things about this book, and the synopsis is not like anything I have read before, which excites me. I feel like a lot of dystopians have the same story lines lately, just in a different world, but this is something I haven’t seen before so I’m looking forward to it. I’m also going to have to read this pretty quickly because Spencer is chomping at the bit to get his hands on it, so I need to hurry up! Also the sequel is at out this year, so although I’ll have the wait for it to be released in paperback, I do still feel like I need to catch up on this series, and fast!

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Out of all the books I have brought in this haul this probably has the most mixed reviews. People either seem to love it or hate it, and despite being apprehensive about buying it, I bit the bullet and decided to go for it in the end. It being the only book in the buy one get one half price deal at Waterstones that I had heard of may have had something to do with it as well. I have read better reviews about the sequel that has just been released, so I’m hoping this book isn’t so bad that I can’t read that.

 

Those are my latest purchases! Have you guys read any of these books? Anything you think I should know before I dive into their worlds? Are you as behind with these series as I am? Let me know in the comments section! 

2 thoughts on “Book Haul: My Book Ban Has Been Lifted!

Leave a Reply

