Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten OTPs (9th Feb 2016)

It’s Top Ten Tuesday’s again! Top Ten Tuesday’s is a weekly meme created by Broke and Bookish where a bookish prompt is given to help you create a list of ten.

Top Ten Tuesday time! I know I missed last weeks but I started university again and time got away from me. I don’t really read historical fiction anyway and I was getting really stuck every time I thought about it! Anyway, on to this week! This week’s theme is in honour of Valentine’s Day coming up this weekend, and we were basically given free reign to go all romantic. I decided that since I also haven’t been reading a lot of romance or contemporary novels in the past few years that doing OTPs would be the easiest choice for me this week! There may be 1 non-canon OTP in there which is my ultimate, and I’ll try and keep the Harry Potter pairings to a minimum! (These are in no particular order)

Luna Lovegood and Blaise Zabini (Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling)

img-thing

I thought I’d get the non-canon pairing OTP out of the way first. I know this is a weird pairing, and when I first heard of it I was completely against it, but now I kind of love them together. Because of how little we know about Blaise in the series it’s easy to manipulate him to how you want. I always saw him as a really sarcastic person, who would be that way with Luna but because of how she is she wouldn’t notice and would take him seriously. Just imagining them interacting like that makes me so happy, and I can Luna really challenging Blaise to open his mind up a bit. I think he’d love to learn her quirks and although he would still be sarcastic with her over them it would change from malicious to loving. They just make me really happy okay! They are my ultimate and nothing will change them. I’ll stop here because I could go on about these two for days.

Percy Jackson and Annabeth Chase (Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan) 

maxresdefault

Percabeth is just a classic. I read the whole series rooting them on and although I still haven’t finished Heroes of Olympus I know they’ll still be together at the end. I loved how their relationship developed, it was so steady and done so well, there wasn’t insta love in 12 year olds, they didn’t hate each other and then all of a sudden fall in love, it was gradual. Although there was a slight love triangle (something I hate) it wasn’t over done, the whole plot didn’t revolve around them and you always knew it was going to be Percy and Annabeth.

Ash and Kaisa (Ash by Malinda Lo)

ash_kaisa__first_sight_by_sephystabbity-d5xrka8.jpg

It has been a very long time since I read this book, and honestly I can’t remember a lot of it. But what I do remember loving was the romance that developed between these two characters. They are the first LGBTQ pairing I ever read and I didn’t even realise it at first! That was one of the main things I loved about this pairing is that their genders weren’t focused on, it took me ages to realise and once I did I had to go back and check I had been reading the pronouns correctly, but what was only so I could better imagine Kaisa in my mind. It just seemed so natural between the two of them and I was rooting for them from their first meeting.

Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley (Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling) 

romione_by_misa295amane-d42osux

I know, another Harry Potter pairing, but how could I not? As much as I want Ron for myself I couldn’t help but get so frustrated over how long it took for these two to get together, and how dense they were both being! Although I hate them together in fan fiction why does everyone write Ron as a dick? they are still one of my favourite canon pairings. Again, their relationship and love for each other was developed so well, from their friendship in the first book, all the way to Ron’s little ball of light for Hermione in Deathly Hallows. These two tore my heart apart with frustration and sealed it back together again so many times that I could not help but fall in love with them as a couple.

Sephy Hadley and Callum McGregor (Noughts and Crosses series by Malorie Blackman)

tumblr_liw76iOOaW1qhxun2o1_500.jpg

Again, this is a book I have not read in years but I do remember how emotional I got over their relationship. We studied this book while I was at school, and although we didn’t get to read the whole thing in class we read quite a lot of it. Enough of it for me to get so emotionally invested in these characters and their relationship that when I sneakily skipped to the last chapter in class I had to hold in the tears as best I could. It didn’t work too well, but I couldn’t help it! I think I just fall madly in love with love that stems from friendship. Either way, although I didn’t read the rest of the series I do know that I love this couple and the ending practically ripped my heart out.

Came Morgan and Zachary Goode (Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter

images

Another couple from my early years that I stick absolutely love! The chemistry between them was just amazing, and they challenged each other in a good way that helped the other evolve. Again, this is another series I haven’t got round to finishing but I hope they’re still together at the end of it. I really enjoyed reading the dynamics between these two, and how well he got on with her friends as well. It was just a good school romance.

I’m sorry there aren’t 10 couples on my list, but like I said, I don’t read a lot of romances so it was hard for me to think of ten for this week. And I really wanted to get this out on before midnight! Also, sorry all the pictures are weird sizes, it was hard for me to find ones I liked that were the same shape.

Who are your OTPs? Do we have some the same? Do you completely disagree with me and think a character should be with someone else? Let me know in the comments section! 

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten OTPs (9th Feb 2016)

    • graciefm says:

      It was ridiculous! But if they had have gotten together sooner they would have been broken up and all sorts, which would have been worse! Thank you, me too! They were so amazing together, I need to know what happens to them!

      Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        Haha I know it’s a weird one! But as soon as I read the fan fiction with them in I was completely convinced! I don’t think I ever pictured either of them with people while I was reading the book, I don’t think any of the characters in the books really appreciated Luna in a way that wasn’t friendship, and I love her so much that she deserves to be with someone who’s just as amazing as she is 🙂 I was a bit shocked at Harry and Ginny, but it was done better in the books than in the film, after a little I got used to it and when we saw more of Ginny I could see them together better.

        Liked by 1 person

      • booksandblah says:

        Yeah, I see what you mean about Luna. It’s so crazy how fanfiction makes you think about these totally unlikely couples, right? 😮
        Harry and Ginny grew on me in the books but it was still a little awkward in the movies (for me at least!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        It really does! I can’t read fan fiction with Ron in it, even though he’s one of my favourite characters, because they always make him out to be a horrible character!
        I can’t stand them in the film, every scene with them is just so awkward! I wish they would have put more effort into their relationship

        Liked by 1 person

    • graciefm says:

      They’re just amazing together!! I’ve only read the first Mortal Instruments book because the plot twist with them angered me so much I couldn’t read the rest of them, but apparently it all gets better so I’m gonna try and re-read them! I haven’t read any of her other series but I’ve heard such good things about them I’m gonna have to give them a go!

      Like

Leave a Reply

