The Dim Sum Book Tag

The Dim Sum Book Tag was created by Joey (@Thoughts and Afterthoughts) and Jenna (@Reading With Jenna). Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is serves in small portions and is common during yum cha (which means drinking tea). This tags is inspired by good company and good eats.

I was tagged by Beth (@Reading Every Night). Thank you so  much for the tag! I know this is up a bit later than I anticipated, but I am doing it now! This is so different from the usual tags I see and I’m excited to get into it all this talk of dim sum has made me very hungry though.

Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  • Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions.
  • Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun.
  • Food coma.

 

Tea: A book that started off hot but quickly turned cold.

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

DorothyMustDie_CoverOnly1.indd

I was so excited when I heard the concept for this book and when I started reading it I was still thinking it was going to be what the synopsis promised. But as I continued reading I realised it was not what I was expecting, the story wasn’t going the way it was promised, I didn’t like the direction Paige took it in, and there was no character development. Overall this book just didn’t do what it promised, I wouldn’t have minded the differing plot if it had have been executed well.


 

Chiu Chow Dumpling: A book that features elements of land and sea.

Impossible by Nancy Werlin

impossible_book

It took me a while to think of a book I’d read that fit this theme, but then suddenly I remembered reading a book years ago that involved a pregnant teenage girl having to do some kind of task at the beach. I did have to google what I could remember of the summary so I could find the name of the book (my copy is at home so I can’t look at my bookshelf to jog my memory) and the sea isn’t a huge feature in the plot, but it is a significant one, so I feel it fits the bill.


 

Rice Noodle Roll: A favourite multilayered character you’ve read (i.e. Traits? Skills? Morally ambiguous?).

Chiyoko Takeda

The Calling (Endgame #1) by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton

Endgame

Chiyoko was such an intricate character, from her families background in the games, her muteness, her disguises, fighting ability. And these tropes aren’t even what made her a multilayered character. Her opinion on killing innocent people but then doing it anyway were intriguing, and how she is portrayed as cold and unfeeling throughout the majority of the book make you want to learn more, especially when that facade is broken by one of the other players (I won’t say who because spoilers). I just really wanted to know more about her throughout the book and see her with the player who won’t be named more and more.


 

Shrimp Dumpling: A book with a transparent blurb that gives the story away.

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You (Gallagher Girls #1) by Ally Carter

6937524._UY200_

I think the title and blurb give this book away. It’s about a teenage girl. Who is also a spy. Who falls in love. There’s not really much else to it to be honest. I did really enjoy the book and the series as a whole, but this probably isn’t the best book out of the six, they get better.


 

Steamed BBQ Port Buns: A book that is fluffy on the outside but packs a punch of flavour (e.g. Message? Depth? Controversy?)

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J. K. Rowling

Harry01english

How could I not include this book in this tag? And this is the perfect category for it, because it does seem all fluffy, just about a small boy and his adventures into the magical world. But it copes with some very serious and in-depth themes such as death, love, friendship, hard work, just to name a few. J. K. Rowling even uses her own depression as a trope in the book. This may seem like a fluffy children’s book but I think it is a lot more than that.


 

Chicken Feet: A book with divided opinions.

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

IMG_0013

This book has such a divided opinion on goodreads. People either absolutely love this book or just weren’t a bit fan. My opinion was divided in itself, the first half of this book I was not won over by, but it did get better in the second half and I was convinced to continue the series by that half alone.


 

Lotus-Wrapped Sticky Rice: A book you’ve received/given that was nicely packaged.

Storm in a C Cup: My Autobiography by Caroline Flack

512PVhudx+L._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

I was given this book by my mom as a christmas present because she thought I’d enjoy all the gossip about Prince Harry and Harry Styles which I did. My mom and I both share a love of wrapping presents with pretty bows and ribbons so it’s safe to say that this was definitely nicely packaged!


Egg Custard Tart: A book that uses simple ingredients and clichés but executes it perfectly.

The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter

41fqUvcUBAL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This is a book that I had to read for one of my university modules last semester and I really enjoyed it. It combines classic fairy tales and typical gothic tropes to make something completely different. I really enjoyed Carters takes on the different fairy tales and I loved trying to work out which one was which. I would definitely suggest it to anyone who is a fan of fairy tale re-tellings or fairy tales in general.


Mango Pudding with Evaporated Milk: Any book recommendation and beverage/snack that’s a winning combination.

Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan

percy-jackson-and-the-lightning-thief-rick-riordan

This is one of my favourite series, I love both Percy Jackson and the follow on series Heroes of Olympus, and because of Percy’s young age in the beginning of the series I feel like I can pig out and eat things I wouldn’t have felt guilty for at that age. That is why I’m pairing it with a Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Mug Cake!

915-CookieDoughCake.jpg

To be honest I have been dying to make a mug cake for ages, but I just haven’t gotten around to buying the ingredients. I do feel like this is something a twelve year old would rush round the house, gathering all the stuff they need, and banging it all into a mug and waiting until the microwave dings so they can get their taste of cake without having to beg their parents to go out and buy them one or make a mess of the kitchen making. I also feel this is the exact snack Percy would love to make and is something I can really imagine him sitting down, maybe not with a book, but definitely in front of the tv and devouring.


 

Fried Sesame Balls: A book cover with embossed text/design you just love to run your fingers over.

Angela Carter’s Book of Fairy Tales by Angela Carter

81021

Although I may have only just brought this book, I absolutely love running my fingers over the raised writing. Although the pictures aren’t raised I do love picking this book up, running my fingers over it and staring at the gorgeous illustrations.


Dim Sum Steam Cart: The type of carrying bag you use to bring books around.

I don’t actually have a specific bag that I carry books around in. I don’t usually take my books out of the house unless I’m going somewhere with a long journey or for university. If I’m taking my books to university then they will be in my university rucksack, and if I’m taking them on a long journey then I’ll put my in whichever hardback I’m using at the time. I do try and make sure they don’t get damaged by placing them with pages up so they don’t get bent or ripped.


 

My Tags:

  1. Pretty Witty Words
  2. Cristina @My Tiny Obsessions
  3. Emily @The Little Book Affair
  4. Annalise @Annalise Books
  5. Brittany @The Dream Carrier

 

Thanks again to Beth for tagging me in this, I had so much fun doing it and I hope the people I’ve tagged have fun as well!

12 thoughts on “The Dim Sum Book Tag

  1. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Ohh, great picks, and I’m glad you had fun completing this tag as well.
    I completely agree with you about Dorothy Must Die, I loved the sound of that book when I read the blurb before it was released but then didn’t really like it when I actually read it. It’s possible I overhyped it a little. Have you read anymore of the series? I read the second book but really didn’t like that one.
    The Percy Jackson series is one on my to-read list, I’ve heard a lot of great things about it so I can’t wait to get started 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • graciefm says:

      I think I did the same with Dorothy Must Die, but I still wasn’t expecting to be as let down as I was. The second book is on my to read list but I chose to buy other books over it, mainly because of how disappointed I was, but I still want to read it eventually. I was hoping the second one would be better because it woulds like it will be what I thought the first one would be, are the characters still completely useless, underdeveloped and romance focused?
      I love the Percy Jackson series! It is second only to Harry Potter for me, I absolutely love it! I know you love fairy tale re-tellings so I think this is something you’ll really enjoy with the greek mythology elements that are involved, it’s just so well done! I want to re-read it this year because I’m behind on the follow up series but I can’t really remember what’s happened in detail so I’m hoping to re-read them all and power through the second series as well this year!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I was disappointed with the first one as well but I thought the second may be better and, you know, I could give it a chance at least. But nope, if anything I found it worse than the first. The romance just seems to come out of nowhere in the second one, like it literally hits you in the face with it. And I don’t feel any of the characters really improved. TBH I can’t even remember anything about the actual plot, and I don’t think I read it too long ago.
        Percy Jackson is definitely on my to-read list, I’ve heard so many great things about the book and at the moment I’ve only seen the first film which probably can’t compare to the books. Yep, I love fairytale retellings and Greek mythology just as much 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        Oh god, it sounds terrible, I think I’ll give that one a miss then!
        The film for Percy Jackson is probably the worst book adaptation I have ever seen! It is also probably the first film I have ever had to turn off because I didn’t like it, and that happened in about 15 minutes! They got the casting all wrong (they’re supposed to be 12) they got camp half-blood wrong (to me anyway) they seemed to get basic plot points wrong and they got Grover wrong! (how did they turn a gangly, accident prone boy into a cool, slick, very coordinated teenager?) I just have a lot of problems with that film :L

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I wouldn’t recommend it.
        My friend said pretty much the same thing when we left the cinema, I hadn’t read the book beforehand so I had nothing to judge it by but if my experience of other book-to-film adaptations is anything to go by it can’t really live up to the book.
        Ehh, I think it’s genuingley impossible to get films exactly the same as the book but some are just worse than others I guess. I definitely have plans to read the series before June so I’ll let you know what I think!

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        The film never does, but some of them are actually decent, like the Harry Potter films and the Hunger Games films, they aren’t perfect but they tried to stay as true to the books as they could, but Percy Jackson was just terrible! I think if they are going to adapt it again it should be a tv show or make the film with actors that are the age the characters are in the books.
        I don’t mind films not being perfectly the same because it isn’t likely to happen, they’re going to have to cut stuff out, but this one was just worse than any I’ve seen before!
        Do! I can’t wait to see what you think of them!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I love all the Harry Potter films, and The Hunger Games actually, Mockingjay Part 2 was excellant! There are some book to film adaptations that I really enjoy but others that I’m just on the fence about; Game of Thrones for one, it’s really good but they started to veer away from the books and I’m not sure how I feel about that (they’ve cut out one of my favourite characters), it’s the same with The Scorch Trials as well.
        I enjoyed Percy Jackson when I saw it at the cinema, probably because I hadn’t read the books. It’s going to be interesting reading it having seen the film but I’ll definitely let you know what I think, I’m sure I’ll enjoy the series if I enjoyed the film!

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        I really like Game of Thrones, but I’ve only read the majority of the first book which is pretty similar to the first season so I can’t really judge. I always feel a lot happier about changes in adaptations when the author themselves is involved though, like George R R Martin is with GoT. I still haven’t seen the Maze Runner film, but I loved the book, I haven’t read the others yet, I’m kind of scared to because I’ve heard they go down hill.
        I’m sure you will, yes definitely let me know what you think!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I loved the first season, it stayed so close to the books but the following seasons have seemed to move away from the series. I still enjoyed the TV series but the fifth season just kinda went off the rails a little for me. They haven’t included a couple of my favourite characters, and I honestly don’t know how the series can progress without one of them.
        The second Maze Runner film does move away from the book as well but I actually really enjoyed it. I enjoyed the books too but there was one part of the third book I did not like. Have you read the prequel? I really loved that one!

        Like

Leave a Reply

