Monthly Reading Goals: February 2016

This month is again most likely to be dominated with university reading unfortunately. Second semester has started and that means new books to read for my course. I’ve been quite bad with reading my university books when I’m supposed to the last year and a half, but this semester is the semester I get my life together and try and stay on top of everything! It hasn’t gotten to the best start, as the book I need to read most urgently has not arrived yet. The only book to have not arrived. Hopefully it will be here soon and I can crack on with it, but until then there are loads of other books to read!

There are four novels I need to read this month for university, which is considerably more than last month so hopefully I can keep up with it all!

Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

Joseph-Conrad

This is the annoying book that I need to read this week but has not turned up yet! Unfortunately I haven’t brought a copy with this cover (I wish I had though, I love it!) but at this point I will just be happy with whatever copy I get. I need to read this for the first two weeks of my Revolution of the Word: Modernism, and although it’s not the module I’m most looking forward to this semester the books don’t seem to bad.

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce

9780141182667.jpg

This is another book I need to read for Revulsion of the Word: Modernism, but I won’t need to read this until the 3rd and 4th week’s of the months so I can put it to the back of my mind for a little while.

Goodbye to All That by Robert Graves

51sP0sPf8sL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

Again, this is another book that I can put to the back of my mind until the 3rd week of the month, but this will need to be read for my module called No Man’s Land: Literature of the Great War. This is a module I am so excited about, as this was a period of history I always enjoyed learning about at school, so I’m looking forward to applying all the context I have stored up in my brain and learning more from the experiences of the authors I’ll be reading.

Return of the Soldier by Rebecca West

51+sQdaDSpL._SX309_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This book is also on my reading list for No Man’s Land: Literature of the Great War and is another I can ignore for a while as this doesn’t need to be read until the last week of the month. It also has a cover I am slightly in love with it’s blue and pretty! and is the final book I will have to read this month for university!

Finally I can get onto my pleasure reading planned for this month! I had planned to only put two books on this list, but I’ve nearly finished one already, and I cannot decide for the lift of me which book I want to read next out of two. So I’m going to put all three on this list and hope for the best!

Storm In A C Cup: My Autobiography by Caroline Flack

512PVhudx+L._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

This is a book that I wouldn’t have brought for myself necessarily, but that’s because I never saw myself as an autobiography person. Boy was I wrong! I got this book for christmas off my mum and thought I’d give it a go before I attempt to read all the new books I’ve brought, otherwise I would never get to it. I’ve nearly finished this already I did start it in February, I promise and I cannot put it down! I thought I’d only want to hear about the celebrities she’s dated, but her life it so interesting, I don’t even care about the guys! Anyway, I’ll stop myself now before I get carried away, otherwise they’ll be no point in you reading my review!

Truthwitch (The Witchlands #1) by Susan Dennard 

9781447282044Truthwitch_4.jpg

This is one of my recent buys (I will be doing a haul, I’ve just had some problems with one of the books) and I am so excited to get to it! There has been so much hype around this book, which scares me a little, but it seems like the perfect book for me, and one I would pick up regardless. I really hope I can read this books this month because my fingers have been itching towards it ever since I brought it home!

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

Cinder_book_cover

Another book with so much hype, and one that I feel so far behind on! This series has already finished and I haven’t even started it yet, but hopefully this month will change that. I am worried about reading this book this early in the year because I’ve blown my book buying allowance and I know I’m going to want to buy the rest of the series asap, but at the same time I just can’t stay away any longer!

What books are you planning on reading this month? Any opinions on my chosen books for this month? Let me know in the comments! 

2 thoughts on “Monthly Reading Goals: February 2016

Leave a Reply

