Book Travelling Thursdays: Everyone Has a Special Someone!

Book Traveling Thursday’s is a weekly meme created by Danielle (@shelfiesaboutselfies) and Cátia (@thegirlwhoreadtoomuch). A weekly theme is chosen, you choose a book you feel best fits that theme and show your favourite and least favourite covers from around the world. Check out their goodreads page to discover more about Book Traveling Thursdays.

For this weeks theme you have to choose a book with your bookish boyfriend. This one was slightly difficult for me because I haven’t read a lot of contemporary’s lately. I used to read a lot but I can’t really remember them much so I feel I can’t choose one of those. So instead I’m going with the first boy in a book who truly stole my heart, Ron Weasley. The Harry Potter series is probably my favourite book series of all time, and I know I will want to use this series a lot for this meme throughout the weeks, but I’m going to have to resist! To try and calm the temptation I have decided to use it early on so I know for the future to avoid it. I’ll only be doing Philosopher’s Stone for this, as I feel it would be a bit too much to try and do the whole series.

Original Cover

Harry01english

I think it’s pretty common knowledge that this is the original cover for Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. This is the cover I own and I am a big fan of it, I think it’s so recognisable and iconic, it makes me all warm and fuzzy inside when I see it.

UK Covers

hp-philosopher-duddle.jpg

this is the current UK cover for Philosopher’s Stone and I am a big fan of it. I don’t normally like the re-done covers for the Harry Potter books but I think this one really shows the magic of the books.

Favourite Covers 

22052749         1001004010971015.jpg

Italian                                         Dutch

The Italian cover is gorgeous, and one of the only ones I found showing Harry’s first experience in Diagon Alley. In my opinion this is one of the most magical experiences in the whole book series and I love that it’s on the cover, it really shows what the books were  about, particularly at the beginning. The Dutch cover is not something I would have originally called my favourite, and probably still isn’t on its own, as it doesn’t really show anything about the series, but when all seven books are together? They look gorgeous!

Least Favourite Covers

1482132.jpg    430569.jpg    3310083

Italian                                        French                                       Finnish

I just, I’m kind of lost for words here. These are so bad! The Italian one confuses me completely, why is Harry wearing a mouse head? Why is there a mouse? What is going on?! The French cover just looks way to young, I know it’s a children’s series but still, really? It looks like something for a 6 year old, and that is way too young to read this series! The Finnish cover just looks scary. The style of drawing is terrifying and I don’t understand why any child would want to pick up a book with this cover.

Who is your bookish boyfriend? What do you think about my favourite and least favourite coves? Let me know in the comments section! 

One thought on “Book Travelling Thursdays: Everyone Has a Special Someone!

Leave a Reply

