Monthly Round Up: January 2016

The end of the month is here and that means it’s time for a monthly round up!

Books

This month has definitely gone very quickly, but I was proud of the amount of books I’d managed to read in what feels like a short amount of time. Until I saw everyone else monthly round ups and realised how little I have actually read.

This month my goal was the read four books, two university books and two books for pleasure. I managed to read all of those books plus an extra university book for my second semester that arrived early. (The links lead to their goodreads page)

University books I read this month:

  1. Journey’s End by R. C. Sherriff
  2. The Mexican Tree Duck by James Crumley
  3. Cutter and Bone by Newton Thornburg

Pleasure books I read this month:

  1. The Magicians (The Magicians #1) by Lev Grossman
  2. The Calling (Endgame #1) by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton

Books I’ve reviewed:

  1.  The Magicians (The Magicians #1) by Lev Grossman

 

Posts

I did quite a few memes and posts about my life this month. I’m so glad I got back into blogging and hopefully I can keep up the momentum!

My Life Ramblings

Disney on Ice 

New Years Eve Day

One Year Anniversary

I’M FREEEEEEEE… Ish

Top Ten Tuesdays

Top Ten Resolutions of 2016 (5th Jan 2016)

Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t (12th Jan 2016)

Top Ten Books On My Books To Buy List (26th Jan 2016)

Match Made in Mondays

This Character’s Life + Me (11th Jan 2016)

Friday Finds

8th Jan 2016

29th Jan 2016

Tags/Awards

Infinity Dream Awards

I know I only did one review this month, but my review for The Calling will hopefully be coming soon, and my reading speed seems to be improving so that means I’ll be able to read more books and write more reviews!

Reading Challenges

Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge

Overall: 5/30

This Month: 5/30

The only challenge I’m taking part in this year is the goodreads reading challenge. I’m only just really getting back into reading for pleasure after being in a massive slump so I wanted to start myself off slow. I’ve set my goal to 30 books, which I’m hoping with my university books I’ll be able to reach, like I said, I want to start of slow and ease myself back into it without feeling a lot of pressure. So far I think I’m doing well, I’m 3 books ahead of schedule. With university starting again now I’m worried it will cut into my pleasure reading time, but at least I’m studying English Literature so all my course books will go towards this goal. I feel confident I can keep up with this pace, as I’m probably going to have finished my first book of February by the time I post my February Monthly Goals…

Add me on goodreads so we can encourage and support each other in this years reading challenge!

So that was my slightly late monthly round up! what did you manage to accomplish in January reading wise? How are you doing on your goodreads challenge? Let me know in the comments section!  

2 thoughts on “Monthly Round Up: January 2016

    • graciefm says:

      Not as much as I would like or used to, I’m trying to get my reading speed up so I can read more! Please do! I love seeing what other people are reading! I’ll go over and give it a look! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

