Friday Finds (29th Jan 2016)

Friday Find’s is a weekly meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm where you showcase the books you have ‘found’ during the week and added to your TBR list. These don’t necessarily have to be books you’ve purchased, they could be one’s you’ve seen online, in a book shop or the library that seem interesting to you!

The last Friday Finds of the month! I know I don’t do this tag every week but I still enjoy doing it when I have found some really interesting books to share with you all. This week I have three ebooks that I have downloaded to share with you all as well as a book I discovered on goodreads (you can add me here) that looks so interesting and has immediately found its way onto my To Be Brought list.

Nefertiti’s Heart (Artifact Hunters #1) by A. W. Exley

51dbfLVlnmL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

Cara Devon has always suffered curiosity and impetuousness, but tangling with a serial killer might cure that. Permanently.

1861. Cara has a simple mission in London – finalise her father’s estate and sell off his damned collection of priceless artifacts. Her plan goes awry when a killer stalks the nobility, searching for an ancient Egyptian relic rumoured to hold the key to immortality.

Nathaniel Trent, known as the villainous viscount, is relentless in his desire to lay his hands on both Cara and the priceless artifacts. His icy exterior and fiery touch stirs Cara’s demons, or could he lay them to rest?

Self-preservation fuels Cara’s search for the gem known as Nefertiti’s Heart. In a society where everyone wears a mask to hide their true intent, she needs to figure out who to trust, before she sacrifices her own heart and life.

This book was featured in the email I receive every day from BookBub, where you can get discount ebooks. It seemed really interesting, and I haven’t heard of anything with a similar synopsis so I thought I would give it a go! It helped that it was free as well.

Blood Faerie (Caledonia Fae #1) by India Drummond

12619648

Sentenced to death, Eilidh ran—away from faerie lands, to the streets of Perth, Scotland. Just as she has grown accustomed to exile, local police discover a mutilated body outside the abandoned church where she lives. Recognising the murder as the work of one of her own kind, Eilidh must choose: flee, or learn to tap into the forbidden magic that cost her everything.

This is another ebook I downloaded from BookBub for free. I haven’t read any faerie books, and I don’t really know why. They are creatures that have always interested me and ones that I think I would really enjoy in literature. When this book appeared in my email the concept definitely intrigued me and as it was free I though why not?

Thorn by Intisar Khanani

20558124 

For Princess Alyrra, choice is a luxury she’s never had … until she’s betrayed.

Princess Alyrra has never enjoyed the security or power of her rank. Between her family’s cruelty and the court’s contempt, she has spent her life in the shadows. Forced to marry a powerful foreign prince, Alyrra embarks on a journey to meet her betrothed with little hope for a better future.

But powerful men have powerful enemies–and now, so does Alyrra. Betrayed during a magical attack, her identity is switched with another woman’s, giving Alyrra the first choice she’s ever had: to start a new life for herself or fight for a prince she’s never met. But Alyrra soon finds that Prince Kestrin is not at all what she expected. While walking away will cost Kestrin his life, returning to the court may cost Alyrra her own. As Alyrra is coming to realize, sometime the hardest choice means learning to trust herself.

This was the ebook I was most excited about when I saw it on the email. I’ve been really wanting to read more fairy tale re-telling’s and this is a re-telling of ‘The Golden Goose’, but unfortunately they only had it on amazon, and not available for apple download. But the cover is absolutely gorgeous so I am considering trying to find a physical copy, as I don’t think I can deprive my shelf of something as pretty as this.

A Whole New World (Twisted Tales #1) by Liz Braswell

24397040

Welcome to a new YA series that reimagines classic Disney stories in surprising new ways. Each book asks the question: What if one key moment from a familiar Disney film was changed? This dark and daring version of Aladdin twists the original story with the question: What if Jafar was the first one to summon the Genie?

When Jafar steals the Genie’s lamp, he uses his first two wishes to become sultan and the most powerful sorcerer in the world. Agrabah lives in fear, waiting for his third and final wish.To stop the power-mad ruler, Aladdin and the deposed Princess Jasmine must unite the people of Agrabah in rebellion. But soon their fight for freedom threatens to tear the kingdom apart in a costly civil war.

What happens next? A Street Rat becomes a leader. A princess becomes a revolutionary. And readers will never look at the story of Aladdin in the same way again. 

This is a book I discovered on goodreads while having a nose around, and I am so excited by the concept. I am a huge Disney fan, so to see someone take those films and put a spin on them is amazing. I’m so excited about this book and it has been added to my To Be Brought list as well as the sequel, Once Upon a Dream, a Sleeping Beauty re-telling which is due to be released later this year.

So those are my Friday Finds! All the covers link to their goodreads page if you want to find out more about them. Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Have you got any new discoveries you want to share? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Friday Finds (29th Jan 2016)

Leave a Reply

