Book Traveling Thursdays: Some Books Stay With You (28th Jan 2016)

Book Traveling Thursday’s is a weekly meme created by Danielle (@shelfiesaboutselfies) and Cátia (@thegirlwhoreadtoomuch). A weekly theme is chosen, you choose a book you feel best fits that theme and show your favourite and least favourite covers from around the world. Check out their goodreads page to discover more about Book Traveling Thursdays.

This weeks theme is books that you want to re-read this year. I have chosen the Percy Jackson series, but will only be using the first book in the series, The Lightening Thief, for the book covers doing all of them would take forever! I loved this series when I first read it, greek mythology has always interested me and seeing it brought into our world was amazing! Sadly the series has come to an end, but I don’t know what happens! I have read all the Percy Jackson books and the first two of the Heroes of Olympus series, and despite owning up to The House of Hades I just have not finished them yet. So my plan this year is to re-read the Percy Jackson series and hopefully that will put me in the mood to finally finish the Heroes of Olympus series, plus I won a free copy of The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1) which apparently has Percy and the gang in it, so I need to read the others before I can dive into this series!

The Original Cover

The_Lightning_Thief_cover

I had never seen this cover for Percy Jackson before researching the original for this meme, and I am so happy they changed it! Apparently this was the original cover but it got changed pretty quickly because it didn’t show what the book was really about. I kind of agree with that, although this cover has all the monsters Percy faces on it, and probably appeals more to a young male audience, it doesn’t actually show Percy. So I’m assuming when people opened this and realised it was from a 12 year old boys perspective it wasn’t exactly what they were expecting.

UK Cover

6a9541d7610794e13108a0ad05322755     percy-jackson-and-the-lightning-thief-rick-riordan

These are the two covers released in the UK, the second being the rerelease and the one I own. I’m not keen on the first cover, I think it looks very childish. I know Percy Jackson is a children’s book but it appeals to audiences of all ages and I think the cover should show that. The second one I do like, I feel it adds some maturity to the covers but also shows what Percy faces in the books, it’s probably one of my favourite versions.

Favourite Covers

a13fc8698701ca05617eb700cd25605e  24100251.jpg  19046976.jpg

Dutch                                 Estonian                                   Romanian

Although I am normally a fan of minimalist covers I do like the Dutch and Estonian covers, I think they show really well what the novels are about and the tone of them, maybe the Estonian more than the Dutch. The Romanian is a perfect example of a minimalist cover that I love. It may not be the best representation of the series itself as Zeus is the main focus, but I love the style of drawing and the bright colours.

Least Favourite Covers

7575736.jpg  6051172.jpg  13635323.jpg

German                               Indonesian                             Norwegian

The German one just doesn’t do it for me for some reason, I think the main focus is on Zeus instead of Percy and the series is called Percy Jackson I know, I’m a raging hypocrite, but I really love minimalist covers! Again, the Indonesian cover just doesn’t show anything about the series or Percy, I know he’s in this cover but I don’t think it fits well with the book. I detest movie covers on books. I know why they do them, so people who have seen the film are more likely to buy the book. But I just don’t like it. I think it takes away from the book itself and the achievements of the author, especially in this case when the film was abysmal in comparison. So that is why the Norwegian cover has made it onto the list.

What book are you planning on re-reading this year? Do you agree with my favourite and least favourite covers? Let me know in the comment section!

 

Leave a Reply

