Top Ten Tuesday’s: Top Ten Books On My Books To Buy List (26th Jan 2016)

It’s Top Ten Tuesday’s again! Top Ten Tuesday’s is a weekly meme created by Broke and Bookish where a bookish prompt is given to help you create a list of ten.

This week is a freebie week, so the blogger is given free rain to come up with whatever list they want to make. As I have decided to make a To Be Brought (TBB) list so I can actually remember the names of the books I like the look of I thought I would share the top ten books on this list.

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

Cinder_book_cover

I know I am very far behind on the hype for this series, but I have finally been convinced by all the glowing reviews I have seen for this series. This book has made it very high up on my TBB list and will most likely be purchased on my next trip to Waterstones.

The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) by Renee Ahdieh

img_1440 

I have seen this book all over the book blogosphere the past few months and with the sequel arriving this year I need to get my hands on this to be ready. I would probably want this book even if I hadn’t seen all the positive reviews for it because the cover is gorgeous! Have you seen it? It’s so pretty!

Angela Carters Book of Fairy Tales by Angela Carter

81021.jpg

I know, more fairy tales! But what can I say, I’m slightly stuck in my childhood. And the fact that I have just finished a module on Angela Carter and her other book of fairy tale retellings, The Bloody Chamber, which I really enjoyed may have something to do with it. This cover is also to die for!

Truthwitch (The Witchlands #1) by Susan Dennard 

21414439

I thought I would attempt to buy a book that had actually been released this year instead of just playing catch up with every other series. This book seems like my cup of tea (if I drank tea…) and all I have seen is amazing reviews. Hopefully I’ll be able to get my hands on it soon and see what all the hype is about!

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) by Leigh Bardugo

10194157

Another series I am miles behind on, especially with the release of the follow up series, Six of Crows. But it is the follow up series that has caused this book to make it on my TBB list. Every has raved about Six of Crows, and has said you don’t have to read The Grisha series to understand it as the only link is the world they take place in, but I feel like I will be missing out on some major world building if I skip this series and jump straight to the latest one. Although The Grisha series is said not to be as good as Six of Crows I’m still going to give it a chance. And it also has a cover I have fell in love with.

Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle #1) by Rachel Hawkins 

51cK844WshL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Why am I so far behind on all the popular series?! I am desperately trying to catch up to everyone! This book really intrigued me when I first heard about it, and although I have read mixed reviews about this series (particularly the sequel) I still want to give it a try. This series really reminds me of the Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter, but with a slightly different take on the teen girl spy theme. I have been looking for something that will live up to Carter’s series and so far have not seen something that I even deemed buyable as their synopsis just did not grab me, but hopefully this will fill that gap.

A Darker Shade of Magic (A Darker Shade of Magic #1) by V. E. Schwab

51RYeVqlj9L

I am embarrassed by the amount of series I need to start. A dark fantasy series about magic? Yes please! Another book I have seen only good reviews for, and with the sequel being released this year this is another book I desperately need to get my hands on quickly!

Vicious (Vicious #1) by V. E. Schwab

519y6Cl1lBL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

I have only discovered V. E. Schwab fairly recently, and have only seen good reviews for all of her books. That is why the first book in her earlier series has also made it onto my TBB list. A book about superheroes who aren’t quite superheroes is right up my ally, and with all the superhero films being released this year it just seems right to read it soon.

The Colour of Magic (Discworld #1) by Terry Pratchett

The Colour of Magic Collectors Library Edition-850x850

Spencer and his dead love Terry Pratchett and the Discworld series, and it is another series that it seems pretty much every person remotely interested in books has read. Also the new, gorgeous hardback covers being released that I am absolutely in love with are seriously helping this book make it onto my TBB list. I’m such a cover whore.

A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston 

9781447284116

I know, another fairy tale re-telling, but I just can’t help myself! And have you seen this cover?! How could I resist! I saw this book in Waterstones and had to be dragged away because I was on a book buying ban but the cover stuck in my mind and since my ban has been listed I am desperate to get it. Also with the growing popularity of A Thousand Nights re-tellings growing I felt like I needed to sample more than just one I’m trying to justify buying more than one re-telling to myself and so far it’s working very nicely.

What books are on your To Be Brought list? Any of the ones I’m hoping to get my hands on soon? Have you read any of these? Share your thoughts in the comments section!

All book covers lead to the goodreads page and you can find my goodreads page here, feel free to add me!

40 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday’s: Top Ten Books On My Books To Buy List (26th Jan 2016)

  1. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Great picks. I have Truthwitch on my to-read/to-buy list as well. I loved Susan Dennard’s first series and I have heard nothing but great things about her new book.
    Also I loved the Grisha series by Leigh Bardugo, she is an amazing author, and everything V.E, Schwab has released has been a favourite of mine so I hope you enjoy both of those series as much as I have 😀

    Like

    • graciefm says:

      I haven’t read Susan Dennard’s other series, but I have seen so much talk about this book I can’t help myself, if I enjoy it I’ll probably check out her other still as well though!
      I can’t wait to get to both of those authors, they seem like perfect books for me and I’m excited to experience them! I’ll definitely let you know when I get to them! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I’m excited to start reading Truthwitch, it’s been on my to-read list for a while but it wasn’t near the top so it may be a while before I get around to it. From what I’ve heard Truthwitch seems to be better than her other series but if you like Truthwitch I reckon you’ll like her first series as well.
        I still need to read Vicious, it’s the only one of V.E. Schwab’s books I haven’t got to yet but I’ve heard nothing but good reviews for it so I’m excited to start that one, hopefully soon.

        Like

      • graciefm says:

        I’m hoping to buy it today, as I’m going on a trip to my book shop because I got given vouchers for Christmas and my birthday that I haven’t used yet. So I’m excited because my book buying ban will finally be lifted!
        I’ve heard that as well, but I’m still willing to check out her other series if I really like this one.
        I’ve seen the same, and it sounds like a really intriguing concept so I’m looking forward to getting to that one, but it is further down my list so it’ll probably be a while before I get to that one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I pretty much spent all my Christmas money on Christmas Day. As soon as I have any funds at all I spent them on books 🙂 well it’s good your book buying ban has been lifted, why were you on one in the first place? Just trying to save money?
        I read her other series a while back so I’m not too sure about what actually happened but I do remember it was really good so I’d definitely recommend it if you like Truthwitch.

        Like

      • graciefm says:

        I went crazy today and brought six new books, but it only cost me £15 because of all the vouchers and loyalty card points I’d saved up, so I’m pretty happy with that! They didn’t have Cinder and The Wrath and the Dawn in though, so I’ve ordered them both off amazon because I thought I’d go a little crazy. Yeah I was just spending too much on books for the sake of it, I love going into book shops just to be surrounded by them but I always ended up buying something that I went off the idea of pretty quickly, so I thought putting myself on a book buying ban would help me save money and be more conscious when buying books, making sure they were ones I would actually end up reading! I brought Truthwitch today and I’m so excited to read it, I’ll have a look into her other series, if it’s anything like Truthwitch seems I’m sure I’ll enjoy it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Oh wow, that’s amazing value, I’m heading into town this weekend so I may see what books I can find, I don’t have a lot of money but if it’s something that looks really good I may just have to buy it anyways.
        Yeah I mainly buy off Amazon, they have so much more there, it’s where I got my copies of TWATD and Cinder, the only issue is having to wait ages for it to arrive. When you buy in a bookshop you can just walk out with it but buying off Amazon you have to wait for it to be dispatched and then delivered as well.
        Well I really hope you enjoy Truthwitch, I won’t be starting it for a while so you’ll have to let me know what you think when you’ve finished reading it.

        Like

      • graciefm says:

        I know! I was so happy with how many I was able to get for so little. You’ll have to let me know if you get anything, I’ll be posting a haul on here with all the ones I got after this weekend.
        They do have a lot more, and if you know what you’re looking for then that’s probably the best place to go, but I also can’t deal with the wait! I’d much rather have them in my hand as soon as possible, and getting the loyalty points and stuff means I get a bit of money off when I buy them from the shop, which is great! I’ve had an email this morning saying Cinder and TWATD have been dispatched so I’m really excited for those to arrive!
        Yeah I definitely will if I get to it first, my reading speed has gone down so much because of how little I’d been reading so hopefully with reading more it will pick up more!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I have a really long list of books I need to buy, I’ll probably get quite a few more when I actually get paid again, can’t keep buying stuff on my credit card.
        I get a lot of books for my Kindle, that way I pretty much do get them straight away and I don’t have to worry about any books getting damaged in my bag on the way to work. But it’s great they’ve been dispatched, I’m still waiting on one of mine, another one actually arrived yesterday so yay! But it would be great if Amazon had a points system or something like Waterstones.
        I really hope you enjoy Cinder and TWATD when they arrive, they are both two of my favourite book/series so I’d recommend them to anyone!

        Like

      • graciefm says:

        Same, the 6 books I’ve just brought have only scratched the surface! yeah, I’m going to have to wait a bit now, I probably won’t be able to get any more until Easter holidays now I think, all the money I have I need for living!
        My Kindle is a really old one and full, my brother knew someone who downloaded loads onto it for me and gave me a disk with extras on, but I don’t know where the disk is so I’m worried about deleting any off it. The Kindle is amazing but I still don’t think it beats having the physical book.
        I’m so excited to get them when I get back! They were the ones I wanted the most so I can’t wait to get my hands on them!
        What two have you brought? I do love actually getting mail and the excitement of opening the book, one of the only good things about ordering really. If Amazon did do that it would be great! The books on there are a lot cheaper and you can get pretty much anything! I’d have loads of points by now with all the university books I’ve had to buy off there!
        Thank you, I’m so excited to read them! Everyone has said such good things about them, they will be the first two I read after I’ve read Caroline Flack’s autobiography (I got it for christmas so I feel I should read that first).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I try and stick to a budget each month, it never seems to stick though but it think I’ve done OK this month.
        I got a Paper White Kindle after my first one died but I love it, especially for travelling to and from work. I agree with you about preferring paperback books, if I really love a series I will buy it in paperback or hardcover as well. I mainly keep my Kindle for travelling, my bag I use for work is a mess of stuff and I’d worry about my books getting damaged if I took them with me each day. There’s nothing worse than getting home from work and discovering the cover of one of your favourite books has torn because your keys got stuck in your bag and ripped it :/
        I got a copy of Their Shattered World, which is definitely one of my favourite covers, and Waging War, which is the fourth book in one of my favourite series. I’m very excited for it to arrive, hopefully soon, even though I’ve already read it there’s something about actually having the book and holding it in your hands you know.
        You’ll definitely have to let me know what you think of them once you have read them.

        Like

      • graciefm says:

        If I tried that I would break the budget every time! I get too excited to book shops!
        I would like a new Kindle so I could get all the latest ebooks without needing to delete any of the books off the Kindle I own, and I can’t actually do anything on my Kindle expect read books, I can’t buy books off the Kindle because it’s so old and the internet doesn’t work very well on it. It is great for taking on holiday and stuff though, it’s so light in a bag as well! I hate it when that happens! If I am going to take a book somewhere I always have it on top of my bag with the spine down so none of the pages can get damaged, or they’re less likely to!
        I’ve not heard of either of those books, you’ll have to let me know what they’re like! My books haven’t arrived yet, but I had missed a delivery while I was gone so I’m hoping it was them! I definitely will!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I’m terrible with budgets as well. I do always go over but having one keeps me from going over too much you know.
        To be honest I never use my Kindle to actually buy books, just to read them, I just buy them off Amazon and wait for them to download on my Kindle. I’ve had my Paper White Kindle for probably about two years now, which was how long I had my first one before it died, so I’m anticipating needing to buy a new one again soon. And yeah, it’s become like a lifeline when I’m on holiday or travelling to and from work 🙂
        I’d definitely recommend both of them, I really enjoyed them. This Shattered World is the second book of the Starbound series by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner (YA Sci-fi), and Waging War is the fourth book in the Immortal Descendants series by April White (YA time travel) I think the first book is free on Amazon for Kindle at the moment so it’s definitely worth checking out.

        Like

      • graciefm says:

        I think I’m going to have to start doing that, I’ll probably start next month though with the amount I’ve brought in January I want to try and get through some of those first!
        It would just be nice to have amore up to date Kindle, and one that doesn’t take half an hour to load or turn on! Also I find with mine I can’t actually turn it off properly, I turn it off as it says in the book but it still uses up my battery so when I go to use it it’s dead, which isn’t very helpful!
        Ooo that both sound like series I’d be interested in, I’ll have to give them a look on goodreads!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I feel like I should put myself of a book buying ban at some point, I’m going away a bit this year, or am planning to, and definitely need to be saving towards that. The problem is I have terrible impulse control, if a book I want is released I’ll buy it anyways.
        How do you cope with your Kindle like that. I’d literally have to buy a new one if that happened to mine, I have a three hour round trip to and from work, I need something to read in that time or I’d be bored stiff!
        They’re both amazing series, definitely two of my favourites, so if you get a chance I’d highly recommend them both 🙂

        Like

      • graciefm says:

        I’m surprised at how well I did with my book buying ban, but I think since I started blogging more and being more aware of the new releases and what books are popular I want to buy more! Oh yeah, saving for your holidays is important, but you also need books to go on those holidays with you 😉
        I don’t really use it that much because of it, I might try and save for a new one because I do enjoy using it, and it is useful for long journeys, but being a student makes that very hard!
        Both my books came today! But TWATD has go really frayed edges, it doesn’t look like it’s been cut properly, so I’m going to have to send it back and wait for another one 😦 I’ll have a look and check them out!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        That’s pretty much the same problem I have, I’ve discovered so many books through WordPress and I can’t afford to buy them all. I planned a budget for each month but I’ve gone over it in January and will probably again in February. Me and my friend are going away quite a bit this year so I really need to save up. I may have to force myself to go on a book ban one month to try and save money. Obviously I’ll buy books before going away so I have stuff to read on the plane.
        Mine is pretty much my lifeline, if it ever broke I’d need to replace it right away, but I can use the Kindle app on my iPad if I need to I suppose.
        That sucks about it having frayed edges. I have a few books like that but I just kept them, I think my copy of TWATD is one of them actually. I don’t mind so much and can’t really be bothered to return them. But you have Cinder to read in the meantime right?

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        I’ll probably have the same problem, but at least I’ll be budgeting slightly instead of just going crazy!
        It’s hard but it’s definitely worth it when you realise how much you’ve saved and the feeling when you can finally buy books again is so amazing!
        I think I’m going to look into the new Kindles and see how much I’ll have to save to get one, because it would be really helpful if I had one, I’d probably save a lot of money as well buying ebooks instead of physical books.
        I wouldn’t mind if it was second hand, or only the odd page, it was brand new from amazon and all the pages book like they’ve been ripped instead of cut properly which is a bit frustrating considering I payed extra to get it in hardback. Yes I do! I’ve nearly finished the book I started so that will probably be what I read next 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I was actually thinking of raising my budget slightly, I seem to always be going over so maybe this way I won’t feel so guilty when I do.
        But either way, maybe around April/May I’ll put myself on a ban (although I have already pre-ordered a book to be released in May so I’m not off to a good start).
        Ebooks are so much cheaper it’s insane, if only paperbacks or hardcovers were less expensive. Although I don’t think anything beats having an actual hardcover/paperback edition of your favourite book on your bookshelf!
        Oh no, I know what you mean. It’s on a few of my books but TBH I’m too lazy to send them back, but yeah considering how expensive hardcover editions are you’d think they’d make sure the pages were neatly cut or something.
        I really really hope you enjoy Cinder, I just finished reading the Novella by Marissa Meyer, Stars Above, today, and oh it is amazing, I may have to re-read the series myself at some point.

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        If you keep going over you may as well, you’re spending that money anyway and it’s horrible feeling guilty over something like that!
        Haha pre-orders don’t count because technically you brought them before 😉
        I know! The price gap is ridiculous! Definitely, if I love a book I have to have a hard copy of it, especially when the cover is gorgeous!
        My boyfriends going to help me with it later, I don’t normally send stuff back so I don’t have a clue what I’m doing! It’s going to be annoying having to wait longer to read it but at least I’ll have other books to keep me occupied until then! And hopefully it means I won’t get too distracted from my university books!
        I’ve heard so many good things about all her books so I’m excited to finally get to it! How many novella’s and prequels are there? Because I’ve heard about a few but I don’t know which ones have to be read when.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I’d probably only raise it by £20, it seems to be what I’m over every month and yeah, makes me feel less guilty when I look back and realise I have overspent if it’s already been put into my budget 😀
        I do tend to count preorders, mainly because the money only comes out of my account when the books dispatched, and it’d be worse if I count it when I preordered it because I go on pre ordering sprees which come to over £100 sometimes, way over budget.
        There are a few books I have that I want to buy in hardcover because I loved the story so much, I need to wait till I paid but I thought hey were so good I really want a hardcover edition, plus sometimes it’s a whole year before the paperback copy comes out, which is too long to wait for some books.
        There’s quite a few novellas, five of them are already out but there are another four never before released ones in the anthology. Personally I’d recommend reading all the novellas after reading Winter (the last book in the series) then you can read them all at the same time and won’t have to worry about spiking anything that’s revealed in later books 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        Exactly, and you don’t want to feel bad over buying books! Whenever I do I just look at the books I’ve brought and it makes me feel better because of how amazing they look! :L
        Haha I try not to preorder for that very reason, I’d end up spending so much money because it won’t be going out of my account at that time! I find actually going into the shop and having to physically hand over the money helps lower my spending a little.
        It does annoy me how long it takes the paperback cover to come out, especially if I have the first one in paperback because I’m really picky and need to have them all in the same style. When I eventually get the money I want to re-buy some of my favourite books in hardcover, so that when I eventually have my own place I can display them all really nicely on a bookshelf.
        Okay, I’ll hold off reading those until I’ve finished the series then! I’ve started reading Cinder now, I’m only about 100 pages in but it’s okay so far, I feel it’s going to get a lot better from here though. A couple of the plot points have been quite obvious though!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I feel guilty when I see my bank balance but as soon as those parcels arrive on my doorstep it’s all worth it, and yep, they look amazing on my bookshelves! I do try and keep track of my pre orders but I do tend to overspend on them sometimes, it’s just the way it works out isn’t it, it’s so much easier to pre order when no money comes out of your account, but then it all does at once.
        I know right, sometimes I’ve honestly not been able to wait so for a trilogy I have two books in paperback and then one in hardcover. It doesn’t look terrible but it really annoys me when you have to wait ages for a book to be released and then even longer waiting for the paperback edition to come out.
        I’m glad you’re enjoying Cinder so far, I do think the series gets better as it goes along. Yeah I know what you mean about the plot points being obvious, I still really enjoyed the book in spite of that. At least reading them all now means you don’t have to wait ages for the last book to come out, the wait for Winter nearly killed me!

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        I feel the same when I order books, but it is definitely worth it when they arrive! That would be my problem, I’d just go crazy without looking at the dates or the cost and it would not end well for my bank balance, that’s why I normally just wait until they come out so I can go to a shop and buy them and know what I’m spending otherwise I wouldn’t eat for a month!
        It’s because the hardbacks are more expensive so they want people to buy them more unfortunately, but the hardbacks do look prettier. I’d have to force myself to wait, my boyfriend is doing that to the sequel of Endgame: The Calling at the moment because it’s only in hardback and it is killing me!
        I am enjoying it, it’s picking up a bit now so I’m excited to read more of it! I’ve got one of the plot points I’d guessed right so I’m waiting to see if I’ve got the other two now, I’m pretty sure I have though! That’s kind of what I was waiting for to be honest, I really wanted to read them but I was on my book buying ban and I knew the final book in the series was coming out soon so I made myself wait. I’m excited to have them all in hardback though because all the pictures I’ve seen of them together make them look gorgeous!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Definitely worth it, though sometimes my parents complain about the amount of books I buy, it’s not the worst habit for me to have I suppose but it can be an expensive one. There are so many amazing books coming out this year, I want to buy them all but my bank balance would not survive that amount of pre-ordering, maybe I should put myself on a pre-order budget as well?
        I seem to have a good mixture of paperbacks and hardcovers. I’m waiting for the last book in the Starbound series to be released in paperback, I already read it on Kindle but I need to actual book for my collection. I literally have until December, I think, to wait if it’s anything like the first two.
        I feel that’s the smart thing, waiting for the whole series to be released before starting it, it’s what I’m thinking of doing with The Winner’s Curse books, it’s on my to-read list but I may wait until the third one has been released before I start reading them.
        Ohh what plot point did you guess, and also what ones do you think you’ve guessed right? The first time I read this book was years ago, and I’ve re-read the series since then (in preparation for Winter’s release) but it’s not the same as reading something for the first time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        That’s why I had to go on the book buying ban, because my parents kept complaining about the money being spent on books! But I agree, we could definitely have worse habits, they should be grateful we’ve taken an interest in such a hobby 😉
        From the sounds of it I think that would be helpful, or just raise your general budget higher and include the pre-orders being released in that month in that budget?
        Mine are mainly paperback I think, just because that’s what they usually have in waterstones, but I am leaning more towards hardback now for some reason, the only thing putting me off is the extra money, so I’m only guying books I know I’ll love in hardback!
        Oh god, that sounds like a horrible wait!! I’m dreading when that happens to me, I know it will for the Darker Shades of Magic sequel, I’ve just brought the first book but haven’t read it yet. I know the sequel is coming out this year though and it will be in hardback, it’s going to be a long wait! I’ve not heard of that series, it’s another one I’m going to have to check on goodreads!
        Well the three plot points I’d guessed were that Cinder was Luna as well as the missing princess and that Dr. Erland is luna. I know they’re both Luna now I’m just waiting for them to confirm she’s the missing princess! I am in love with Ike, there needs to be more of her!! and Kai, more Kai is always good as well ;D

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Hey, at least we’re addicted to reading and not something worse, and yeah, I don’t know many other hobbies people blog about like they do books!
        I can’t wait for the sequel either, A Gathering of Shadows right, I think it comes out in February sometime, I definitely need to re-read the first one before though. Honestly for that series I do prefer the hardcover covers than the paperback ones, but I don’t have the money to afford the hardcover ones!
        I’ll probably have to start including pre-orders in my budget, if not I will spend way more than I can afford buying books. I really need to save. Yeah I may start to do something like that, buy paperbacks unless the book is really really good. I mean TBH I do have more paperbacks than hardcovers on my bookshelves. I think the problem is when books are released they’re always released in hardcover first and a lot of the time I’m not willing to wait for the paperback edition to actually real them.
        Ohh yes, definitely more Kai, and Iko is definitely one of my favourite characters. I love Thorne as well who appears in the next book. He is probably my favourite male character in the series! I think i guessed the fact that Cinder was Lunar, I can’t remember what else I thought about these books, I first read it so long ago now.

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        Exactly! our parents should be grateful! 😉 It is such an amazing community, I’m so glad I found it and can get involved in it!
        Yeah I think that’s the name, I’m going to have to speed up my reading this month so I can get the sequel! But I have the first one in paperback and I know I won’t want to wait for it, it’s going to be so agonising!
        That’s one of the reasons my really long book buying ban has been helpful because now it’s made me more cautious buying books, I won’t go quite as crazy as I used to!
        I have more paperbacks as well, but I want to start getting more hardbacks, I’ll have to see how much I can afford it first, for just ask for the hardbacks as christmas and birthday presents! I have the same problem, it’s why I normally try and wait until a few in the series have been released before I buy them so I can get them all in the same cover type.
        I’ve reached around page 300 now and I am so upset!!!! I’m hoping it all changes and gets better because my favourite character has been destroyed and Kai is signing his life away!! This needs to change! I’ve heard a lot about him from other peoples posts, especially with all the valentines day top ten tuesdays out yesterday! I’m excited to get to the sequel and see what all the fuss is about!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I think it may just be something parents do anyways give you ‘advice’ you don’t think you need or want. And yeah, I’m having so much fun blogging and talking to all the other people on WordPress. It’s a brilliant community.
        I need to re-read A Darker Shade of Magic before the second book is released but I’ve pre-ordered it so I’m excited for it to arrive once it’s released! I’m going to start a book buying ban sometime, probably just after May, I really need to start saving and actually sticking to my budget. I’ve literally worked out a complicated budget for the whole year based on what I have to spend and what I need to save, it doesn’t give me much to buy books but there’s a little left at the end of each month.
        There are a few books Ill buy in hardcover if the series is one of my all-time favourites but yeah I try and get paperbacks, or even Kindle editions more often. Oh god that is one thing I hate when the cover changes halfway through the series. There’s one books series I have, and because so many books have been released I now have three different cover designs in my collection, but I dont have the money to rebuy everything so it’s all the same cover design!
        Oh Cinder is brilliant, yeah the ending leaves a lot of characters in a bad place. I love Scarlet, I abslutely adore Wolf and Thorne who we meet in the second book. To be honest every interaction between Thorne and Cinder was golden!

        Liked by 1 person

      • graciefm says:

        It really is, I’m so glad I can be a part of it, it’s introduced me to so man new books, I’m so glad I made my blog!
        I’m going to have the agonising wait for paperback, because that’s what my first one is. It’s one of the reasons I’m putting off reading the book, but my boyfriend really wants to read it so it means I’m going to have to hurry it up a bit.
        I did my first pre-order the other day! It was for the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child script and I am so excited for it to come out!!! I really want to go and see the actual play but I think it’s a bit too expensive so I won’t be able to.
        That sounds like it took you forever! But at least you have a little bit of book buying money, it’s better than nothing!
        I hate it when that happens, I only have three of the Alex Rider books but the first one is a different cover to the rest and it really upsets me, and I know if I get any others they’re going to be different covers and I don’t know if I can do it! I’ve got the first three mortal instruments books (which I have read one of ages ago so I need to re-read them) but the new covers are absolutely gorgeous, and I know if I get the rest it will be those covers which I really want, but they will mismatch with the ones I have, and I can’t afford to buy the first three again! It’s a really hard dilemma.
        It really does! I need to get the next books so I can find out what happens but I might be getting them for Easter (my family don’t really do easter eggs) so I might have to wait until then!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Same here actually, my to-read list has massively grown since I started blogging, which on one hand is a good thing because some of my new favourite series are ones I saw on WordPress, but at the same time it’s bad for my bank account.
        I tend to buy books on my Kindle so I can read them as soon as they come out, and then pre-order the paperback edition if it’s a book I really enjoy. I’m not really a patient person so waiting for the paperback is always something I’m terrible at. Yeah I pre-ordered the Harry Potter script as well. I’m so glad they’re releasing it for everyone to read, I’m not sure if the play is showing anywhere other than London, at least people all over the world can read it now. I did manage to get tickets for the play, I’m going to the previews so the tickets cost half the price which was handy. The queue to buy tickets was a nightmare though, but there were people who had worse experiences than I did.
        It’s like when the paperback cover is different to the hardcover one. It’s like that with The Girl From Everywhere, I’d like to get it in paperback because it’s cheaper but I don’t like the paperback cover so I may just have to get it in hardcover anyways.
        I don’t mind when books are reissued with new covers, like the Mortal Instruments series, but at least finish the series with the original covers as well, I don’t think I’ve met one person who likes cover changes in the middle of a series.
        Will you get the rest of the series at the same time? I’m glad you liked Cinder so much, it’s one of my favourite series so I’m glad you loved it as well 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

