Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t (12th Jan 2016)

It’s Top Ten Tuesday time again already! Top Ten Tuesday’s is a weekly meme created by Broke and Bookish where a bookish prompt is given to help you create a list of ten.

This weeks prompt is 2015 releases you meant to get or read but just did not get round to doing it. I only have 9 books on this list because I am terrible at keeping up with new releases. I had to check that most of these were 2015 releases before I made this list and most of them I only heard about because of this blog. Hopefully now I’ve started being more active I will hear more about the new books I have to look forward to this year!

Click on the book cover to go to their goodreads page, and you can find my goodreads page here, feel free to add me as a friend!

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


This book had a big impact on the book blogging community when it came out, and all the reviews I read really excited me. The premise seemed like something I would really enjoy, a Beauty and the Beast re-telling, and everyone raved about her writing style. I did see this book in Waterstones a few times, but I was low on money and on a book buying ban so was unable to get it unfortunately. When I was finally off my bad I decided to her Throne of Glass instead as I knew that was her previous series and thought I’d give that a try before delving into her new world.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo


Another book that took the blogosphere by storm that I did not get round to purchasing last year. It’s another book that seems perfect for me and I’m excited to hopefully get to read it this year. But it is also anther book that has a previous series that I have not read yet. My aim is to finish the original Grisha series this year and hopefully get to this book as well, but we shall see!

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh


I think this is list is just made up of books that everyone else in the book blogging world got the chance to read last year but me! Another book with a really interesting synopsis and a beautiful cover! This is a book I probably would have broke my book buying ban for, but I could not find in Waterstones for the life of me! As soon as I do though I know this will be one I purchase, i can’t wait to get my hands on it and read it!

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard


I’d seen this book in Waterstones a few times and had picked it up to read the description but had never quite been won over. Then I read the full goodreads description and the reviews for it in the blogging community and realised what an idiot I’d been to dismiss this so easily! Hopefully I’ll have the time and the money to read this book this year along with the others on this list.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab


I’ve said this list is full of books the book blogging community have gone crazy over and I’m basically a year behind everyone, and this book proves it again! This is another book is exactly my kind of book and I’m surprised at myself for not having read it yet. I haven’t actually seen this book in the shops in the UK, but I hadn’t been looking for it before, so now I know of it’s existence it will be one I am looking out for.

The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1) by Rick Riordan

I won this book in a goodreads competition and I was so excited to get to it! But then I realised it links to all the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus books, which I haven’t finished yet. I have about 3 more to finish in that series (which I own all but one of) but it’s been so long since I read them all I feel like I’m going to have to start the series all over again! So unfortunately this book is going to be at the back of the list until I can re-read the previous books.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson


I love graphic novels, but unfortunately my collection has stopped growing lately in favour of traditional novels and finishing the graphic novels I already have. I don’t think I’ll be adding too much to them this year either but this is one I will make an exception for. It’s a stand alone as well so hopefully that means I’ll actually finish it instead of adding another incomplete series to my every growing list.

The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Page


I know I didn’t give the first book in this series, Dorothy Must Die, the best review ever (you can find that here), but the premise of this book seems a lot like what I thought the first in the series would be. That’s why I’m willing to give Danielle Page another chance, because I love the idea behind the books! I’m just hoping this one is a lot more of what I had in mind for the first one.

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone Illustrated Edition by J. K. Rowling illustrated by Jim Kay


I have had to be pulled away from this book so many times! I didn’t have the money to buy it and my mum thinks it’s useless as I already own the non-illustrated version of this book. But it is so beautifully done and I am desperate to relive my Harry Potter experience and I think an illustrated version of the book would be a perfect way to do that! Hopefully I can sneakily get it this year.

That’s my Top Ten Tuesday for this week! What are some books you wish you had read last year? Have you already read the ones on my list? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comment box!

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t (12th Jan 2016)

Leave a Reply

