Monthly Reading Goals: January 2016

This months reading goals is going to be a short one because I have my exams this month! That means that two of the books on this list will be for my exams and the other two are books for pleasure that I’ve already started. Hopefully I’ll be able to finish the two I’ve started but they are very thick, so we shall see!

The two books I will hopefully read this month for my exam (I better read them, my exam’s on the 21st) are Cutter and Bone by Newton Thornburg and Mexican Tree Duck by James Crumley.


 I’m hoping to read these for my American literature module that focuses on the crime genre. There’s a range of questions that could be on any theme we have studied, and the theme that these two novels focus on is the affect war has on the detective protagonists. Honestly, I haven’t even read the blurbs for these books, but I need to read them so I wil! (Or so I keep telling myself)

The other book I’m hoping to finish this month is The Magicians by Liv Grossman.

IMG_0013

This books has been on my monthly reading goals before (the one I have done anyway) and I was finally able to start it over the Christmas holidays! I am over half way through currently so I’m confident I can get that finished while doing my exams.

The final book I want to finish this month is Endgame: The Calling by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton.

Endgame

I couldn’t put this book in the picture at the top because I started reading it at my boyfriend, Spencer’s, house as it’s his book. I didn’t bring it to university with me because I thought I’d get distracted from my current reading by it but Spencer has promised to bring it with him for when I want it, so hopefully that one will be at least half read by the end of this month!

That books are on your to be read list for this month? Click on the book image to go to their Goodreads page.

You can also find my Goodreads page here, feel free to add me as a friend!

Leave a Reply

