Monthly Book Haul: August 2015

August has been both a good and bad book buying month for me depending how you look at it. I had been trying to cut down on my spending on books as I still have so many on my shelves that I haven’t gotten round to reading yet, so I shouldn’t be buying more really, but considering I’ve been to a Waterstones pretty much every time I’ve left the house I think I have done pretty well to not buy something for every time I’ve gone in there.

I managed to limit myself to only four books and three graphic novels, two of which I got very good deals on or I probably wouldn’t have brought them.

IMG_6325

If I’d have had my way this pile would have been considerably bigger, but it’s probably for the best that my boyfriend dragged me out of the shop as soon as he saw me trying to sneak off to the tills.

IMG_6327

The books I managed to get away with buying were Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige, The Magicians by Lev Grossman, Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas and Annihilation by Jeff Vander Meer.

I have already read and reviewed Dorothy Must Die, rating it a 2.5 out of 5 stars, you can find the full review here. I was a little disappointed by this one, as you can probably tell by the star rating I gave it, considering how long I’d waited to get my hands on it, but it did have its good points so go along and read my review and let me know if you agree with my opinion or not.

The Magicians is another book I’ve been wanting to read for a while. I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter books and have been seeing a lot of appreciation for this trilogy from the Harry Potter community, especially as a tv show based on the series is in the making so I’m excited to see if it lives up to it’s reputation of being ‘the adult Harry Potter’.

As I have been scrolling through WordPress looking for reviews of books that I think look appealing I have been seeing a lot of reviews for Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses, a book that is on my TBR list, but I thought it would be best to start with her other series, Throne of Glass. I feel behind with the hype around her and wanted to start from the beginning, and it means I’ll have something to compare A Court of Thorns and Roses when I eventually get around to reading it.

Jeff Vander Meer is an author I hadn’t heard of before and it was actually the second book in his The Southern Reach trilogy that caught my eye on the buy one get one half price table and I couldn’t find the first in the series until my boyfriend and I reached the till (it was him buying this time, not me unfortunately) and I pointed it out to him. The assistant helping my boyfriend gave it a rave review, saying it was one of the best trilogies he had read in a long time and I desperately wanted to buy it then and there, but my boyfriend controlled me and I decided to wait until I got back to university to buy it. That was my plan until a week later we were in Waterstones again and I found out it was on special offer for the week at half price, so naturally I had to buy it because I could not miss out on that deal (right?). The covers for all three books in the trilogy are gorgeous and the plot seems to focus on four strong women venturing into Area X, somewhere eleven expeditions have been sent before and not returned, so I’m excited to see what is in store for them in the terrifying Area X.

IMG_6326

Graphic novels are a relatively new found love of mine, it’s only been this year that I really discovered them and started reading them, especially the DC graphic novels. I’ve always had a love for superheroes but in the UK it’s hard to find any reading material on them, there aren’t comic book shops in every corner unfortunately so when I found the graphic novel section in Waterstones I went a little superhero crazy. But over the last month I’ve been looking for more variety in my graphic novel reading which lead me to buying Fashion Beast by Alan Moore, Malcolm McLaren and Antony Johnston, illustrated by Facundo Percio; Deadly Class by Rick Remender and Wed Craig (illustrator and writer) and illustrated by Lee Loughridge and The Wicked and the Divine by Kieron Gillen, illustrated by Jamie McKelvine and Mathew Willson.

Fashion Beast is a stand alone graphic novel that my boyfriend actually picked out for me, I think that was mainly because it was on sale for only £1, but when I read the blurb it turned out to be a retelling of Beauty and the Beast that I could just not resist, and as it was only a pound, can any of you really blame me?

While I was scouring the shelves waiting for something to catch my eye the cover of Deadly Class jumped out at me from a display table. I am a sucker for anything with blue in its colour scheme, and when I read that it was a graphic novel about a school for assassins, I couldn’t resist. Who doesn’t want to read about a teenage boy, going through all the normal High School angst whilst trying to learn different ways to kill a person?

The Wicked and the Divine is another one that I have seen doing the rounds on WordPress, it took me a while to find but once I did I snatched it up quickly and ran to buy it before my boyfriend could tackle me to the grounds and pry it from my hands. I am part way through this one and it wasn’t quite what I was expecting, I’ll go into more detail in my review once I’ve finished it, but the concept is definitely one that excites me.

So those were my buys for this month, have you read any of these? If so let me know what you think in the comments and any recommendations you think I should pick up next month.

Leave a Reply

